Review: Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

IMG_20160418_184149.jpg

18190302.jpg

 

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief

Author: Rick Riordan

Publisher: Puffin Books

Genres: Young Adult, Fiction, Children – Middle Grade, Adventure, Friendship, Mythology

Pages: 375

Format: Paperback

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

 

Percy Jackson is a good kid, but he can’t seem to focus on his schoolwork or control his temper. And lately, being away at boarding school is only getting worse—Percy could have sworn his pre-algebra teacher turned into a monster and tried to kill him. When Percy’s mom finds out, she knows it’s time that he knew the truth about where he came from, and that he go to the one place he’ll be safe. She sends Percy to Camp Half Blood, a summer camp for demigods (on Long Island), where he learns that the father he never knew is Poseidon, God of the Sea. Soon a mystery unfolds and together with his friends—one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena—Percy sets out on a quest across the United States to reach the gates of the Underworld (located in a recording studio in Hollywood) and prevent a catastrophic war between the gods.

If you haven’t read anything by Rick Riordan.. then what are you waiting for?!

The percy jackson series is an amazing collection of books! You’re really missing out.

Put the percy jackson series on the top of your tbr list. Like now.

The beginning of this book was a bit difficult for me, since it’s a mile grade book, and the principal character, Percy is a kid, I wasn’t feeling any connection with the book what so ever. I felt that he was too annoying and that I was not going to like the book..

BUT. I was so wrong. SO wrong. I LOVED THIS BOOK!

Of course it wasn’t perfect. It’s still a Middle Grade book and that’s why I shouldn’t compare the writing or the depth of this book to an Adult book or even a Young Adult book.

It’s too early to say but I think this might turn into a favorite collection of mine.

I love Rick Riordan’s writing, it’s simple and funny and you just want more!

!WARNING: review with SPOILERS ahead!!

THE CENTRAL IDEA

Percy Jackson don’t like trouble. But it seems that trouble always finds him.

See, bad things happen to me on field trips. Like at my fifth-grade school, when we went to the Saratoga battlefield, I had this accident with Revolutionary War cannon. I wasn’t aiming for the school bus, but of course I got expelled anyway. And before that, at my fourth-grade school, when we took a behind-the-scenes tour of the Marine World shark pool, I sort of hit the wrong lever on the catwalk and our class took an unplanned swim. And the time before that… Well you get the idea.

No matter how much he tries to be a good student, weird stuff just happened…

So just in the beginning Percy was literally  attacked by his teacher who he didn’t like that much and turned out that she was a monster. Wasn’t she? Can’t you remember?!…

Then weirder things started happening. His best friend, Grover, started being extremely paranoid to protect him, and he couldn’t understand why.
His mom finds out about the incident at school. SO she decided it was time to tell Percy why weird things happen around him.

“I tried to keep you as close to me as I could,” my mom said. “They told me that was a mistake. But there’s only one other option, Percy – the place your father wanted to send you. And I just… I just can’t stand to do it.”

His father wanted to send him to a summer camp. No… Not a normal summer camp.

Turns out… Percy is a half-blood. His father, who he has never met before, was actually one of the Greek Gods!

And this where his adventure starts.

THE MAIN CHARACTERS

Percy

If you’re a normal kid, reading this because you think it’s fiction, great. Read on. I envy you for being able to believe that none of this ever happened.

I really hated Percy at first. As I said he just seemed too annoying and I was not expecting that since I thought that a son of a god would probably be one of those perfect, could-do-no-wrong type of character. But then I realized that Percy wasn’t perfect (not even close).

He was a teenager with a temper issue. And also a trouble magnet that you’ll find out why with the progressing of the story. (So, I started to understand him better, and that was when I started enjoying reading the book! Because it just stopped bothering me.)

I loved his sarcastic moments. And how he really loves his mother.

Also, I loved how he was still himself even with the gods (Like with Ares).

Also the fact that everything he does and say is understandable in the story was very important to me; that he was not a spoiled brat that now knew he was half god.
Annabeth

“I’m afraid it’s because we’re getting closer to being dead.”

I really liked her! One of the best female character’s I’ve  read about.

She was strong but still vulnerable. She was extremely smart. But underneath that, she was a innocent girl broken by the people who were supposed to take care of her.

Grover

“As long as there’s a snack bar without monsters.”


He was a funny character. He was the funny accent to the entire adventure. And also like the others, later you understand why 
he is doing the things he is doing.


PLOT DEVELOPMENT

This book has no dull moments (even the start was pretty unexpected because of that), there were some slower moments, but then the action comes back up again. The author lets the new information you get, sink in first and thats awesome for me.


SETTING

I LOVED how he brought the Greek Gods out of Europe and into North America. It was so believable. I started loving Greek Mythology and for middle grade book you learn so much!

THE WRITING

I am a big fan of the writing as I said. It’s just so simple and fun! Oh, and the chapter titles are just to die for!

THINGS I LIKED


✔ The characters were so realistic and awesome even the gods. They were so believable!

✔ I liked how the story developed. 

✔ How the author used the Greek mythology in such a realistic way.

THE THINGS I DIDN’T LIKE

✘ That beginning was a bit difficult for me to get into…

✘ OK, someone stole a lightning bolt (how I don’t understand since gods are supposed to see and know everything even if they don’t interfere). You give the lightning back and it’s all okay; everyone believes in everything but at first, was so difficult to believe that it wasn’t Percy… (The movie in that part was 10 times worse)

FINAL WORDS

I love this book! And I highly recommend it! Don’t expect an adult or young adult type of book but if you don’t mind that the story is awesome!

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-30

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-04-07

2 thoughts on “Review: Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

Leave a Reply

