Review: Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan

IMG_20160418_185120.jpg

18340566

 

Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters 

Author: Rick Riordan

Publisher: Puffin Books

Genres: Young Adult, Fiction, Children – Middle Grade, Adventure, Friendship, Mythology

Pages: 265

Format: Paperback

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

YOU CAN’T TELL BY LOOKING AT ME THAT MY DAD IS POSEIDON, GOD OF THE SEA.

It’s not easy being a half-blood these days. Even a simple game of dodgeball becomes a death match against an ugly gang of cannibal giants – and that was only the beginning.

Now Camp Half-Blood is under attack and, unless I can get my hands of the Golden Fleece, the whole camp will be invaded by monsters. Big ones…

This series just keeps getting better and better!

I loved this book so much more!! This was a fast read. Yet so much happened. And not nearly enough. I need to know everything. And I cannot wait to read the rest of the books!!

Like the  Lightning Thief, this book starts with Percy at school, (in the end of the year). A school year has passed and Percy didn’t get kicked out once from this school! Except of course in that last day, that was amazing!

We get to meet Tyson early on in this book. At first I wasn’t sure what to think of him, I was just kind of feeling pity I guess… But then the book moved along and we got to know him more and he saved Percy so many times and I just ended up adoring him. I hope we see more of him soon!! Also, we learn more about the gods in this book and I really liked getting to meet Hermes.

There is a lot more characters in this book which is manly why I loved this one more than the first even!

I love being in the world of Percy Jackson. And this book was so great I loves the characters! Tyson is just a cutsie!!

 

!WARNING: review with SPOILERS ahead!!

 

 

THE CENTRAL IDEA

For the first time in my life, I’d almost made it an entire year without getting expelled. No weird accidents. No fights in the classroom. No teachers turning into monsters and trying to kill me with poisoned cafeteria food or exploding homework.

Seemed that the Gods are giving Percy a break this year right? At least, that’s what he thought… But, no. Percy and Tyson were at gym class when weird things started happening. Again.

All around Matt Sloan, the visitors were growing in size. They were no longer kids. They were eight-foot-tall giants with wild eyes, pointy teeth, and hairy arms tattooed with snakes and hula women and Valentine hearts.

The Gods haven’t forgotten about Percy and someone was messing hap with him again. These creatures called Laistrygonians  (took me some time to put some names in my had, like this one! I just kept saying it wrong… Argh) want to eat him. He tried to fight them off, to protect Tyson and himself of being eaten. Then, out of nowhere, Annabeth came.

Standing in the smoke was my friend Annabeth. Her face was grimy and scratched. She had a ragged backpack slung over her shoulder, her baseball cap tucked in her pocket, a bronze knife in her hand, and a wild look on her storm-gray eyes, like she’s been chased a thousand miles by ghosts. 

After escaping the huge giant bullies at the school, Annabeth, Percy, and Tyson went to a summoned cab, the cab of doom to get to Camp Half-Blood. Those three lady drivers hahah Was such a funny moment when Percy realized they only had one eye IN TOTAL… And when they were fitting for their eye. Ah I loved that moment, Although I am not so sure Percy, Tyson and Annabeth liked that much… Ok Tyson I am sure he didn’t 😛

After surviving the taxi ride, they arrived at camp and found it being attacked by big bulls. The place was supposed to be warded by the tree, but it was poisoned. So anyone who isn’t a Half-Blood can now cross the borders, monsters included.

Now Percy and Annabeth have to not only find a cure for the tree, but also rescue Grover who has been asking to been visiting Percy’s dreams basically telling him he needed saving, and that “oh by the way, now that we are linked by this dreams, if I die, you die” that was a funny part too!

NEW IMPORTANT CHARACTERS

Tyson

“Percy: “You asked Poseidon for… me?”
Tyson: “For a friend, young cyclopes grow up alone on the streets, learns to make things out of scraps. Learn to survive.”
Percy: “But that’s so cruel!”
Tyson: “Makes us appreciate blessings, not be greedy and mean and fat like Polyphemus. But I got scared. Monsters chased me so much, clawed me sometimes-”
Percy: “The scars on your back?”
Tyson: “Sphinx on Seventy-second Street. Big Bully. I prayed to Daddy for help. Soon the people at Meriwether found me. Mey you. Biggest blessing ever. Sorry I said Poseidon was mean. He sent me a brother.”

I liked Tyson so, so much! He is basically a super big cute baby; he is strong yet sensible and adorable!!! And yes, a Cyclops. He is just probably the sweetest thing ever! He saved Percy many times, and always protected him like the friend he so much wanted to have and now has as a brother.

He caused me the best emotions ever!

 

PLOT DEVELOPMENT

This book again, has no dull moments, it was much faster than the first book but yet I have time to really understand everything.


SETTING

I LOVED again how he mixes the Greek mythology and America, and makes it sound so realistic, this time it especially amazed me the localization of the Sea of Monsters.

 

THINGS I LIKED

✔ Percy Jackson is awesome! He was special, but he isn’t perfect. He was a bit of a bad brother for Tyson but in the end you see he is has soft heart! And that he was just insecure, just like a normal teenager, that of course what’s is dad’s attention since he never had much (so he thinks)… 

✔ I love Annabeth so much! For someone as young as her, she is responsible, tough, smart, and really kickass! It’s impossible not to love her! Right Percy? (maybe?…)

✔ There were a lot of cutesy moments between Anabeth and Percy. But nothing much, which I like since we just started! 😛 But it will soon happen!

✔ The chapter titles were again super funny.

✔ This book developed the characters a bit more.

✔ I really liked Hermes, Luke’s dad!

THE THINGS I DIDN’T LIKE

✘ I found Luke a weak villain on this book. He was a coward  with not strong enough issues with is dad, Hermes. I wonder if he turns more evil or if he sees how wrong and stupid he is…

FINAL WORDS

This series is easily becoming one of the series I would give priority in finishing. I loved the Sea of Monsters so much! The writing was amazing, and I loved the character and I can’t wait to meet more!

I think you would all love these books. Because they are amazing. They are exciting and smart and cute. I couldn’t stop reading 😀

Have you guys read the Percy Jackson series? What were your thoughts? 🙂

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-30

Captura de ecrã 2016-10-19, às 22.03.39.png

2 thoughts on “Review: Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan

Leave a Reply

