Review: Percy Jackson and the Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan

IMG_20160418_185547.jpg

15995188

 

Percy Jackson and the Titan’s Curse

Author: Rick Riordan

Publisher: Puffin Books

Genres: Young Adult, Fiction, Children – Middle Grade, Adventure, Friendship

Pages: 294

Format: Paperback

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

 

IT’S NOT EVERYDAY YOU FIND YOURSELF IN COMBAT WITH A HALF-LION, HALF-HUMAN.

But when you’re the son of a Greek god, it happens. And now my friend Annabeth is missing, a goddess is in chains and only five half-blood heroes can join the quest to defeat the doomsday monster.

Oh, and guess what? The Oracle has predicted that not all of us will survive…

I finished this book with a smile on my face. They are just the fluffiest ever.
Friendship and family are well marked in this series, especially in this book, and maybe thats way it’s so easy to relate to Percy. They teach some many valuable things to the youngsters, and even to adults! This books have so much more than the awesome mythology that they talk about (where you definitely learn super much)!

In this book I felt very amazed by our God Dionysus. Yes… Mr. D for the first time I thought he might be actually nice… ( I will not say this twice tho :P)

Plus the books are extremely funny in some parts, the writing really makes a lot of difference and this books have a really good writing! It’s impossible not to crack a smile!

I did loved Sea of Monsters a bit more till now (Tysoooon <3), but I loved the new characters in this one! Blackjack is awesome!!

!WARNING: review with SPOILERS ahead!!

THE CENTRAL IDEA

The start of this book is just….

The Friday before winter break, my mom packed me an overnight bag and a few deadly weapons and took me to my new boarding school.

If I would ask my mom to pack me some deadly weapons, I don’t think it would be as funny 😀 HAHAHA

Percy, Annabeth, and Thalia were dropped off by Percy’s mom on their new boarding school, Westover Hall. A creepy looking school where Grover said he was having some difficulties with a monster that was to near catching the two Half-blood that he was protecting .

Well in the way of course they had some troubles and they lost Annabeth.

And before anyone could react, the monster, with Annabeth still on his back, leaped over the cliff and tumbled into the darkness.

Artemis and her hunters came to help them, but they couldn’t get to Annabeth. Percy and the others need to get back to Camp Half Blood to get the Di Angelo kids to safety and find a way to get Annabeth back. (That was not has planned…)

Percy’s wasn’t picked for the quest to save Annabeth, and of course Thalia wasn’t very talkative with him (kids…).

But how could he not go to save Annabeth?! I mean… It would be just impossible… Well, is rebel side finds a way to get to the trip :P.

Of course we can’t forget Luke and Kronos! They are planning the end of Olympus all the time!

IMPORTANT CHARACTERS

Percy

“I couldn’t help thinking about my dream, with Annabeth crumpled and lifeless in Luke’s arms. Here I was rescuing baby monsters, but I couldn’t save my friend.”

Well, Percy was the same old awesome Percy! Nothing much to say… HE IS AMAZING! 😀 But I really liked his adventure since I was not supposedly on the quest.

Thalia

“Wow,” Thalia muttered. “Apollo is hot.”
“He’s the sun god,” I said.
“That’s not what I meant.”

AHHH She is just so annoying sometimes! But I kind of understand sometimes her reactions, but sometimes you just can’t…Argh. But yeah I still kinda like her…

Luke

Ah Luke! He is not a good villain… I can’t be all bad, he jus’t can’t! Not with Annabeth!! It’s just too sad! *Hope I am right…*

Nico

And, whoa!” He turned to Mr.D. “Your the wine dude? No way!”
Mr.D turned hi eyes away from me and gave Nico a look of loathing. “The wine dude?”
“Dionysus, right? Oh, wow! I’ve got your figurine!”
“My figurine.”
“In my game, Mythomagic. And holofoil card, too! And even though you’ve only got like five hundred attack points and everybody thinks your the lamest god card, I totally think your powers are sweet!”
“Ah.” Mr.D seemed truly perplexed, which probably saved my life. “Well, that’s…gratifying.”

He is just a kid in the beginning, and well he is still a kid in the end, but so powerful! He and his sister Bianca are sons of Hades, ahhh is so awesome!!

Zoe

“Let us find the dam snack bar,” Zoe said. “We should eat while we can.”
Grover cracked a smile. “The dam snack bar?”
Zoe blinked. “Yes. What is funny?”
“Nothing,” Grover said, trying to keep a straight face. “I could use some dam french fries.”
Even Thalia smiled at that. “And I need to use the dam restroom.”

A super cool teenager that is a hunter! (old, like totally old teenager… Since you turn mortal when you are a hunter)  She is so adorable! Well, in her own way.

PLOT DEVELOPMENT

I felt that this book was actually very fast paced, with a lot of action but we still learned a lot about some characters.

THINGS I LIKED


✔ I again, loved the new characters. Blackjack, Nico, Zöe, Bianca! It was amazing!

✔ The villains were more harsh in this book (but, Luke :(…)

✔ I liked how the characters weren’t invincible. Yes… This book was more harsh, in a lot of ways… But totally comprehensible (still sad!)

✔Percy’s relationship with his mom is lovely, is just the type of relation you consider perfect but normal you know? They really love each other and that matters the most.

THE THINGS I DIDN’T LIKE

✘ Annabeth was missing a lot in this book, and she is so awesome to read about!

FINAL WORDS

I am starting to obsess about this series! They are just so amazing! And to think that I haven’t read this sooner….

I am loving it so much that I already bought The Heroes of Olympus collection to read after!

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-30

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-03-39

4 thoughts on “Review: Percy Jackson and the Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan

Leave a Reply

