Review: Percy Jackson and the Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan

IMG_20160418_190442.jpg

18463652.jpg

 

Percy Jackson and the battle of the Labyrinth 

Author: Rick Riordan

Publisher: Puffin Books

Genres: Young Adult, Fiction, Children – Middle Grade, Adventure, Friendship, Mythology

Pages: 342

Format: Paperback

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

 

HONESTLY, BLOWING UP ANOTHER SCHOOL WAS THE LAST THING I WANTED TO DO.

As the son of a Greek god, I’ve had my share of near-death disaster – and now my arch enemy Luke wants to invade our camp via an ancient Labyrinth.

If he succeeds, thousands of bloodthirsty monsters will attack. So it’s goodbye sunshine, hello darkness as four of us descend into the terrifying underground and beyond…

GENERAL THOUGHTS

This book was definitely amazing!

My favorite is still the Sea of Monsters (because of Tyson) – I think?, but this one…maybe this one?… Ahh  They are to close to each other for me…. I really loved the labyrinth, just because I feel that everyone of my favorite characters was back with Percy again, and it made it awesome!!

There are so many characters in this book.

I know a lot more about Grover in this book And learn more about his god, Pan. Which was interesting. And Tyson. I love him, he is the cutest.

Then there is a newer character, Rachel. She is pretty amazing and she’s just a mortal, yap but not common!

And than there is Nico! I’m still a bit worried about him. But he is so , so cool! He’s so young and cute, but has so much pressure and sadness in him.

Till now, this was the most stressy book of Percy Jackson! So much happen, so creepy and intense! It was amazing!! And that end…. made me super curious to know what will happen in the last book!

 

!WARNING: review with SPOILERS ahead!!

 

 

THE CENTRAL IDEA

The last thing I wanted to do on my summer break was blow up another school

Percy Jackson starts off the new school year by battling a pair of Empousai and blowing up his school. Again. He also runs into Rachel Elizabeth Dare, the mysterious mortal girl who can see through the mist, that he met before.

The ancient Lord Kronos is slowly reforming, aided by Luke and his unearthly army. Kronos’ plan is to invade Camp Half-Blood, raze it to the ground along with it’s heroes and then head off to destroy the Olympians.

Although the camp members were under the impression that Camp Half-Blood was impenetrable, they soon realize that Luke intends to invade it through one of the exits of the famous underground Labyrinth. Percy and gang decide to head into the Labyrinth themselves and discover Daedalus’s (the creator of the Labyrinth) workshop, so that they can find a way to stop the invasion.

The Labyrinth is supposed to be the only piece of architecture that changes constantly. Even the creator Daedalus himself has no control over it. Tunnels change, new ones pop up, traps are laid at the most unexpected places and monsters are lurking just around the corner.

They have to find the God Pan, they have to find Daedalus, and try to stop Kronos army, but for that they need Rachel.

IMPORTANT CHARACTERS

Rachel

“Rachel: You’re a half-blood, too?
Annabeth: Shhh! Just announce it to the world, how about?
Rachel: Okay. Hey, everybody! These two aren’t human! They’re half Greek god!…They don’t seem to care.”

A super cool mortal girl!! Yes, a mortal girl just like Percy’s mom, she can see through the mist, and she is extremely curious instead of afraid!

Poseidon 

“I couldn’t miss Percy’s fifteenth birthday,” Poseidon said. “Why, if this were Sparta, Percy would be a man today!”
“That’s true,” Paul said. “I used to teach ancient history.”
Poseidon’s eyes twinkled. “That’s me. Ancient history.”

I just had to had him, that part was so sweet!

Percy

“New lesson, class. Most monsters will vaporize when sliced with a celestial bronze sword. This change is perfectly normal, and will happen to you right now if you don’t BACK OFF!” – Percy”

Percy is just Percy. Awesome as always!

—-

There were a lot more surprises in this book from some characters, that I was not counting on. And Grover seems so grown up in the end of this book!

PLOT DEVELOPMENT

This book had a lot of action, except in the romance department, is that a triangle romance? 😮


SETTING

AHH The Labyrinth was just amazing!! And the way it popped up so fast in the other side of America… I want one of those!

THINGS I LIKED

  • A lot of characters in this book
  • I liked how the story developed, and also the characters. 
  • I liked to see more of some goods.

THE THINGS I DIDN’T LIKE

✘ Where is Annabeth and Percy? Starting to worry!

FINAL WORDS

I love this book! It’s amazing! A lot of action, a lot of development and amazing characters!

What’s your favorite greek creature and demigod ??  Mines are probably the hippocampus and Annabeth.

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-30

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-03-39

Leave a Reply

