Review: Heroes of Olympus – The House of Hades by Rick Riordan

IMG_20160513_155527.jpg

18193187

 

Heroes of Olympus – The House of Hades

Author: Rick Riordan

Publisher: Puffin Books

Genres: Young Adult, Fiction, Adventure, Friendship, Children

Pages: 584

Format: Paperback

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

The House of Hades is the fourth book in the bestselling Heroes of Olympus series, set in the action-packed world of Percy Jackson.

The stakes have never been higher. If Percy Jackson and Annabeth fail in their quest, there’ll be hell on Earth. Literally.

Wandering the deadly realm of Tartarus, every step leads them further into danger. And, if by some miracle they do make it to the Doors of Death, there’s a legion of bloodthirsty monsters waiting for them.

Meanwhile, Hazel and the crew of the Argo II have a choice: to stop a war or save their friends. Whichever road they take one thing is certain – in the Underworld, evil is inescapable.

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-45

I loved The Mark of Athena, but this one?! O M G, it was amazing!!!
I think this may be my favourite one so far!

I loved the action that this book had a lot more than in the others but even with all the action, you got to know all the characters better! Like coach Hedge, Nico, Frank, … And some new gods and monsters, like Bob the Titan, that I really liked.

Also, I loved to read separately about all the characters and their points of view, especially Percy and Annabeth; The description of Tartarus was so realistically cool and creepy!

I loved in this book the way they used their powers, and how they passed all difficulties till the end.

I loved the funny moments, the creepy moments, the stress moments, the heartbreaking moments, I loved everything about this book! 

!WARNING: SPOILERS ahead!!

 

The Central idea

“DURING THE THIRD ATTACK, Hazel almost ate a boulder.”

So from the last book, Rick Riordan surprised us with a massive cliff-hanger, and this starts with a lot of excitement, but not from when Annabeth and Percy fall into Tartarus, like I was expecting, but soon enough we have that!

We follow the book from the perspective of each person going to the House of Hades, and from the perspective of Annabeth and Percy in Tartarus.

They are still trying to figure out some parts of the prophecy but at least they know where they have to go. Both groups have to arrive to each of the doors and destroy the connection to that place, for them to move and for Thanatos to be able to control them.

 

The main characters

Percy

“I appreciate the offer” he said. “But my mom told me not to accept curses from strangers”

I loved to see Percy and Annabeth together in this book, it was so special!! And I love his sense of humor!

Annabeth

Tartarus swallowed Titans and demigods and kittens indiscriminately

The way Annabeth used her brain in this book (and the last one) shows how she has grown up, I loved how she fights and tricks the monsters! She is so awesome!!

Hazel

“EVERYTHING SMELLED LIKE POISON. Two days after leaving Venice, Hazel still couldn’t get the noxious scent of eau de cow monster out of her nose.

Hazel was crucial in this book, she was amazing! She has such cool powers and now even more! I loved the power of the Mist!

Frank

“Stupid, Fai Zhang! she would probably scold. If all your friends were drinking poison, would you do it too? Frank went last. The taste of the green liquid”

Frank. He was awesome!! He had really grown up a lot in this book (literally), now you can see him as true son of Mars, but still with the same soft heart he had.

Leo

“Where to?” Jason asked. Leo stared at him. “Well, I dunno. Let me pull my dwarf-tracking GPS out of my tool belt.… Oh, wait! I don’t have a dwarf-tracking GPS—or my tool belt!”

AHH Leo is amazing! He has a super good humor, he can always make me laugh, but he is not the same Leo he was before. You can also see a change in him, everybody could, but to know what it was is so cute!! I loved that part!

Piper

“Maybe love was no match for ice…but Piper had used it to wake a metal dragon. Mortals did superhuman feats in the name of love all the time. (…)
The ice melted on her blade. Her arm steamed under Khione’s grip.
‘Still underestimating me,’ Piper told the goddess. ‘You really need to work on that.”

Piper grew her confidence, she doesn’t feel useless anymore, she has more power and Hazel as a friend that is helping her with her skills in battle. Also it’s pretty funny how she uses her charmspeak 😛

Jason

Love is on every side, Cupid said. And no one’s side. Don’t ask what Love can do for you.
“Great,” Jason said. “Now he’s spouting greeting card messages.”

I didn’t see that much of Jason as the others, but I don’t see him as superman anymore and much more like a hero as his friends.

Nico

“Nico, I’ve seen a lot of brave things. But what you just did? That was maybe the bravest.”

Nico… What can I say, I WAS NOT EXPECTING THAT.

 

Bob / Iapetus

“Tell the sun and stars hello for me.”

I just had to had this, he is the cutest Titan ever! I loved to know him…But it was so sad!! I hope he appears in the next book… (sigh)

Plot Development

This book was awesomely good, it had a lot of action, that was super fun, with this one I didn’t feel like it had any boring moments. And I loved the fact that it was divided; Tartarus and the way to the doors.

Setting

I loved the beginning when they where going to Tartarus, that it took days, I felt it more realistic otherwise why wouldn’t they come out easily?!  My favorite part was to see Tartarus, and all the places inside, it was amazing!

 

Things I Liked

  • Percy and Annabeth together.
  • I loved to know the characters more, and to see them growing up.
  • A lot of action and cool difficulties in their path.
  • I loved to see Tartarus

Things I Didn’t Like

✘ I LOVED THE BOOK, there was nothing I didn’t like that much, but I felt so sad with Bob (Titan) and Damasen (Giant)!

Final Words

My favorite book so far, it was fully amazing! These books are amazing and they just keep getting better, now let’s see how it all ends!

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-30

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-03-39

Tell me your favorite moment from this book! ❤

One thought on “Review: Heroes of Olympus – The House of Hades by Rick Riordan

  1. […] I will start by saying that I love Percy Jackson and that world, and the only reason why Percy’s books are not here is because The Heroes of Olympus created much more impact in me although they were almost all in between 4 and 5 starts. The House of Hades was ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL. It’s fast passed full of things happening a lot of amazing characters. Rick Riordan has an amazing writing that is both simple and full of emotion that projects you in that world in every page. I love these stories freaking much, and I totally want to continue to be in this world!! Also, he is one of my favorite authors❤ (review with briefing here) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

