Review: Divergent by Veronica Roth

IMG_5879

13335037

 

Divergent by Veronica Roth

Series: Divergent #1

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Genres: Young Adult, Dystopian, Science Fiction

Pages: 487

Format: Paperback

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is—she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles alongside her fellow initiates to live out the choice they have made. Together they must undergo extreme physical tests of endurance and intense psychological simulations, some with devastating consequences. As initiation transforms them all, Tris must determine who her friends really are—and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes exasperating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers unrest and growing conflict that threaten to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves . . . or it might destroy her.

Veronica Roth is the New York Times bestselling author of Divergent, the first in a trilogy of dystopian thrillers filled with electrifying decisions, heartbreaking betrayals, stunning consequences, and unexpected romance.

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-45

After all the time I read this book… It still has a special place in my heart and it always will. I’m glad I finally decided to re-read it, because I needed to, before reading Allegiant. Which I am now very worried about. But I still cannot wait, because I do have high hopes for it. And I just want more of Four. ❤

Since it’s a re-read and probably everyone already read them by now I will just talk about what happened that I loved and so on.

Divergent is told from the point of view of Tris. I really liked her. She’s strong and weak. She’s kind and cruel at times. She changes a lot in this book and I loved that. She’s an amazing person and I loved reading about her.

There are five factions in this book. Dauntless, Abnegation, Candor, Amity and Erudite. I loved reading about all of them, especially Dauntless although all of them have many flaws, and the fact that you can’t talk in between them is just stupid… I would never be able to live in this world, but if I had to I would love to choose dauntless although I don’t know if I would survive).

The character I love the most in this book is Four. He is amazing. He is a broken person that only needs some love. He is soft but strong and I think that’s why I like him so much! I loved getting to read about his life; and how he ended up being Dauntless. Though I wish there had been even more. I loved reading about him and Tris together, because I think she can show her the love he needs since they are so alike.

Tris’ friends are awesome. Especially Christina, but she can also be kinda bitter sweet. But I loved reading about her and Will together. Then there are the mean people, Peter, Molly and Drew, and of course Eric. I hated them so much. Molly is just a boyish girl that thinks to much of herself. Peter is just awful but even so Eric is probably more. And Drew his stupid. They are the rotten apples of the book.

There is so much I loved in Divergent. It’s such a touchy book!! I’m not sure how I felt about Tris’s brother yet, he seems distant and reserved but I guess thats the Abnegation way.

There is a lot of amazing things happening in this book. The dauntless type of living is just catchy…

I’m happy super happy that I re-read Divergent. I still love it like crazy!! Totally one of my favorite trilogies!!

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-30

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-03-39

What’s your favorite faction? Why?

3 thoughts on “Review: Divergent by Veronica Roth

Leave a Reply

