Review: Winter by Marissa Meyer (no spoilers)

IMG_5868

13206900

 

Winter by Marissa Meyer

Series: The Lunar Chronicles #4

Publisher: Puffin Books

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Romance

Pages: 823

Format: Paperback

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend–the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters? Fans will not want to miss this thrilling conclusion to Marissa Meyer’s national bestselling Lunar Chronicles series.

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-45

So each book of this series was about a new character but it still had all the old characters from the all the other books in the series, and is also told in multiple POV’s from all the characters in the previous books. Each book ties into each other, and not only are questions answered from the previous book, but it also all starts to fit together and you finally get to see the bigger picture.

And for Meyer’s to create a series like this with such depth and reach, it’s just beyond amazing! But it also had to take a lot of thought and planning to make sure everything lined up and fit just right to make sense throughout the entire series. The actual plot was fascinating, I could relive a million stories set in this world and never grow tired of them. Meyer just has this gift for creating the most unique and complex stories that just make you want more. These books have for sure the best developed world-buildings and compelling plots out there!

Winter was an amazing big BIG book. I mean normally YA books are not that big, and when they are they have way too much boredom on it… This one?? Not even a bit!! It had lots of action, many close calls, a lot of blood, and lots of craziness! It was developed beautifully! In some parts I really was feeling desperate, I couldn’t see how could she pull this all up, but she did!! With super less time and a lot of luck and friendship she did.

I felt sad and happy for some characters in the end, but I still loved it… I also love how far the relationships have come. It had lots of funny and interacting moments but with it had lots of great friendships that show us that romance isn’t everything, and that message was so well passed in these books!

Also I have to mention, since these books are retellings and they already saw how different they are… They have what is needed to balance it with the traditional story. She gets the amount of each just right, changing up enough to keep it surprising and exciting, but making some connections to the original stories that often catch me by surprise and made me smile.

This book was perfect and I can’t wait to buy Stars Above and read it ASAP ❤

!WARNING:  SPOILERS ahead!!

Just wanted to include this in here since I thought it was incredibly special!

Phrases that made me smile that connect to the traditional story of cinderella <3:

“It occurred to me that if I could find a cyborg that fit this foot, it must be a sign we were meant to be together”

“And they all lived happily to the end of their days.”

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-30

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-03-39

Also I have a question for you guys… When I read Winter’s POV, I always felt I was reading about a child, and not about a 17 years old girl… Did it happen to you guys?

-I mean I didn’t mind I thought it was cute like that but her talking even when it’s not the crazy part talking always seems like a little girl… 😛

6 thoughts on “Review: Winter by Marissa Meyer (no spoilers)

  1. Great review…
    You know what? I just ordered so many books from Amazon I’ve been waiting to order since a century… And now I just don’t know what to do till I get the delivery…
    😂😂 I am sorry, but I just wanted to share with someone who knew the pain of this waiting period…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!! 😀 Uhh… I totally understand! >.< While I am waiting for books to arrive I tend to read the first chapters on amazon then I make a plan on what I will read first and then I still have way too much time so I just lay down in bed lamenting how life is difficult! It's working till now! 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I know how you feel about Winter but I think it was probably due to her sheltered and difficult life as well as the mental health problems she’s dealing with. It would have been hard for her to develop in Lunar society when she can’t interact with people, she had no parental figure and wouldn’t use her power so was disconnected. That may be me justifying it but I was ok with how she was written even though she wasn’t my favourite character.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

