Review: Manga Classics – Emma by Stacy King

IMG_6109.jpg

23332879.jpg

 

Manga Classics – Emma 

Author: Stacy King

Publisher: Udon Entertainment

Genres: Manga, Romance, Classics

Pages: 308

Format: Ebook

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions, are as always, my own.*

Just in time for the 200th Anniversary, Manga Classics: Emma brings Jane Austen’s classic tale of youthful folly and romantic exuberance to a modern audience with this beautiful, new manga adaptation. The impulsive match-making of Emma Woodhouse delivers both humor and heartache through the gorgeous artwork of manga-ka Po Tse (Manga Classics: Pride and Prejudice). – Manga Classics editions feature classic stories, faithfully adapted and illustrated in manga style, and available in both hardcover and softcover editions. Proudly presented by UDON Entertainment and Morpheus Publishing.

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-45

It’s the second Manga Classic I read and I am in love with them, and Jane Austen’s stories! I have never read Emma by Jane Austen but when I saw this book I just had to grab it! Although I did like more Pride and Prejudice this one was amazing anyway!

I love manga and recently I have been enjoying a lot more reading classics than I would have thought possible, so to read a combination of the two is just perfect!

Since I don’t know the real story I can’t really compare or see if something would be better in other way. This is essentially a romantic story but it has a bit of mystery also on who gave a pianoforte to Ms. Fairfax. And a lot of twist in relationships.

The story follows Emma Woodhouse after she attended the wedding of Miss Taylor. Emma started thinking she would be a perfect “matchmaking” and decided to try to help her dear friend, Harriet, although she had no plans of marrying herself. Going against the advice of Mr. Knightley, Emma started interfering in others’ romantic affairs.

In this book we came across a lot of failed relationships and some really lovely ones like Mr. Churchill and Ms. Fairfax, and Ms. Harriet and Mr. Martin. We can also understand all the mystery behind the piano, which is easier to guess seeing the manga draws…. And also Emma’s true feelings.

I loved especially how the characters were designed but also the amazing backgrounds and some characters model sheets. Once again it was an amazing artwork!

I don’t know if a person that read Emma would see flaws in the story but I think it would be still great to read this adaptation with the amazing plus of the drawings.

I would never get tired of reading this manga book and I would totally recommend this to everyone! It’s a beautiful adaptation of the so known classic that so many persons love! I will totally read Emma and compare but because i really love reading manga, I don’t think I will be in anyway disappointed!

 

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-30

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-03-54

Do you read manga books? Recommend me some!

2 thoughts on “Review: Manga Classics – Emma by Stacy King

Leave a Reply

