Review: All That Remains by Al Barrera

IMG_6108.JPG

26539618

 

All That Remains by Al Barrera

Series: Standalone

Published by Al Barrera

Genres: Young Adult, Horror, Fantasy

Pages: 353

Format: E-book

Buy: Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions, are as always, my own.*

The old world is dead, and humanity struggles to survive in the shadows of the new one. Kyle, Sara, and Tim are scavengers, hiding in the remains of human civilization from the hungry things that destroyed it. Living on the few items that haven’t rotted in the thirteen years since civilization was wiped out.

But something has shown itself: A terrible creature that betrays an intelligence in the madness of the creatures that rule the planet.

When the group finds Kaylee, a little girl who claims to know of a safe haven somewhere in Tennessee, they embark on a desperate journey to find it. Memory and loss, depravity and salvation— their last run will put them face to face with horrors of both man and monsters the likes of which they’ve never seen.

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-21

In a post-apocalyptic world, filled mainly with monsters everywhere and where nowhere is save, Kyle, Sara and Tim are on the run. They have survived 13 years already and they intend to keep fighting.

Kyle is the leader of the team, but lately he has become less reliable due to some unexplained flashbacks and painful headaches that they think is caused by some bacteria.

Sara is one of the rare scanners, able to sense all monsters. But this also makes her vulnerable to the most evil monster of all.

Tim’s family died during the first apocalyptic week and he has been traveling alone until he met Kyle and Sara.

Later they meet Kaylee, a little girl whose mother was a scientist. But when they had to leave their bunker and go out in the open world all of them were killed. She was rescued by Kyle, Sara and Tim.

Together, this group gives everything they have to travel to a place that might exist and might be safe.

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-45

I have mixed feelings on this book. Although I did actually really enjoy it, it had some things that annoyed me…

First of all, the cover is amazing! And that’s one of the things that made me get it! I found it stunning!

I love apocalyptic books, and this was a very pleasant one to read. It made me always want to continue and see what would happen, and that part didn’t let me down!

The world is fantastically terrifying but I it didn’t show much explanations. Where did the monsters come from and how? Also, how did Sara get her powers? (That didn’t bother me as much since in Twilight, werewolves only exist because vampires do so, I imagine this is something like that but anyway I would have liked some part about it)

Also, while I really enjoyed the characters, sometimes I wanted to punch them but if I was in their world I think I would react like that or worse… I also would have liked something more about Kaylee than it appears. Since she is on the cover I though we would hear her a bit more… And although we get to know a lot of Kyle, we don’t know so much about Sara. It focuses more on her abilities as a scanner.

I liked how we get a lot of character development in flashbacks without missing any action (and believe me, it’s extremely packed with it), but some have too much while others too less.

I also liked how the author made a world filled with monsters and kind of zombies, and yet some people can be worse than them! It made it more realistic in my opinion.

I really liked the end of the book tho. A tiny shred of hope and yet not everything turned perfect, what would have been pretty unlikely in a world like that.

To sum up, I really enjoyed the book, it kept me hooked but I would have liked more explanations about the world and some more character development.

 

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-30

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-04-22

Have you read this book? What were your thoughts?

One thought on “Review: All That Remains by Al Barrera

Leave a Reply

