Review: The One by Kiera Cass

IMG_5954.JPG

18635142.jpg

 

The One by Kiera Cass

Series: The Selection #3

Published by Harper Teen

Genres: Young Adult, Dystopian, Romance

Pages: 323

Format: Paperback

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

The time has come for one winner to be crowned.

When she was chosen to compete in the Selection, America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown–or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the end of the competition approaches, and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stands to lose–and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants.

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-45

First of all, I was honestly really nervous to read this book. I really loved The Selection, despite a few flaws, but I expected more of The Elite. Her horrible choices and indecision about Maxon and Aspen just made me a little crazy. So, I wasn’t sure what to expect with The One. But…

I loved this book guys!! It was surprisingly the perfect end for the “trilogy”!

This book was impossible to put down. It had so much action and stress yet so many romantic moments. There were a looot of surprises and a lots of characters made their way to my heart in this one! America is a bit better in this one, she still makes some stupid decisions and sometimes she doesn’t listen to what people say  to her although she should, but I kinda saw a change on her, she was more determined, more lady like and more open as a friend. After this book I certainly had a new view of her, and I loved her story too much!!!

If you haven’t read these books I would totally recommend it! They are addicting and beautiful and just the perfect escape! ❤

!WARNING: SPOILERS ahead!!

In this book we got to know all of the girls in the Elite A LOT better. We got to know who they really are and why they’d made the choices they made. We even got to see why each of them wanted to marry Maxon. I think it made a huge difference to the story to truly see these girls and get to know them! I was especially caught by surprise when I started actually liking Celeste after I really so much hated her before.

The rebellion in this book was way more present. The rebels were repeatedly attacking the palace and, as the book went on, they even started to attack the general population. But some unexpected things happened with the rebels, and we got to know them a bit more as well. I really liked to know some of them and I loved especially when America invited Georgia to the party with princess Nicoletta. And the best part was the story of the North, especially the letter! I won’t tell more about that tho. 😛

But best of all was the end of the love triangle. FINALLY!
In this book America was much better comparing…I was happy that she didn’t spend this entire book wondering if she should be with Aspen or Maxon. But she could have done that way sooner, and spare some more mistakes. But she made a decision!! And even after all that being so annoying, in the end, the romantic side of this story still made me awww ❤

Of course in this book, America was still America and she still made some dumb choices based on insecurities, but she did get better as the book went on and we could have a glimpse of how America would actually be a good Queen.

I was really sad in some parts of the book because I really got attached to some characters but it also had so many awesome parts! I think my absolute favorite part was when finally America showed how much she cared about Maxon and Aspen, and she got their friendship finally in place and i couldn’t be happier with their choices!!

Another think I loved about this book is that they show that just because something is a tradition doesn’t mean it’s the right thing to do, that even if something is difficult to change, it doesn’t make it less impossible!

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-30

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-03-39

What was your favorite moment in this series?

Leave a Reply

