Review: The Heir by Kiera Cass

img_5957

23215489.jpg

 

The Heir by Kiera Cass

Series: The Selection #4

Publisher: Harper Collins

Genres: Young Adult, Dystopian, Romance

Pages: 342

Format: Paperback

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible.

But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.

Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought.

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-45

Before I read this book, I hear mainly bad things about it. But for me, I actually really liked it! Not as much as The Selection “series” – because although this is a sequel, it’s completely different from the other books with the exception of a selection…

What I do enjoy about Kiera Cass’ books is that they are captivating. Regardless of everything, you just want/need to know who wins the Selection. And you will consume the books in less time that you thought possible. They are addicting.

I can say right now that I expected more for this book. I didn’t want it to be another selection but it is, and the characters are for sure very different and some I really don’t like. But I can say also that it was totally less predictable! I finished the book and I still couldn’t really be sure of who she was going to choose.

I loved the royal family, they are so different and cute, and it was nice to see America and Maxon again. I also liked the main character. I know a lot of people don’t, and she is no America – or Maxon, since she is doing basically his side of the selection books –  but she is realistic and unique in her own way. She had a tough life even though she always had everything. Things are not getting any better now and that made her the way she is, but I think deep inside she has the same lovely heart that America has and I hope she has also the same luck.

Anyway I really liked to read this book and I will for sure continue! But the original trilogy will always be my favorite!

!WARNING:SPOILERS ahead!!

I felt terribly annoyed at a lot of stuff, and although I was a big fan of America and Maxon, I didn’t like that they “forced” her to make a selection for her – the parents can say that it will be good and probably it even will, and that this time it will also be fair but it feels that she is being used and that shouldn’t happen – although I know that probably she will change her mind.

Eadlyn is an incredible brat – she has everything, and she appreciates her super expensive dresses and her awesome baths, but I feel that she deserves at least a bit of that – with too much on top of her to even look like a teenager. She never actually “lived” till now because she had too many responsibilities and she tried to act confident and prepared for it, and I felt that she could actually accomplish it but that turned her emotionless toward others and thus her own life. She always says the wrong things to people, and she is afraid of everyone new making contact with her. And that made her seem so much real! She’s strong and independent, and even though she angered me, she stood out. There are so many characters in this book though, I can’t even remember half of their names and sometimes I lost myself because of that… And some of them really infuriated me, while others made me love them! Even if she doesn’t stay with them, she has some good guys in her selection that I think, really care about her.

This book had many moments that made me laugh and others that I just felt like “WHYYY, Oh come on!!!”… In terms of mistakes, she is just like her mother, but in a total different level. She keeps doing the wrong things but in this case for herself, thinking that that’s the only way, to shut her heart down, to close herself in her tiny bubble because the others will only make it worse. What if they won’t? What if you actually try to make them know you? Overtime, she changes a tiny bit and she surprised me. I hope that she will be able to show more herself and not be afraid of doing it.

Also I have to say that the end of the book broke my heart, I won’t spoil too much here but I really hope that turns better because it made me cry!

I for sure have to read the next book since this one appears with a thought of Eadlyn, that although she doesn’t understand her feelings, she likes someone…

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-30

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-04-22

Did you guys read this book?

What did you think of it?

Did you like Eadlyn?

3 thoughts on “Review: The Heir by Kiera Cass

  1. Great review. I’ve read the full series and I actually preferred the Heir to the original Selection series. America drove me completely nuts with her indecision and stringing two poor guys along. I prefer Eadlyn. She is a bit of a brat but she tries and she actually wants the best for her country and family.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!! Yeah, America drove me nuts too! I really like this collection, so I was afraid where this book was going. I really liked the fact that was much less predictable that the last ones! And I really enjoyed to see it by Eadlyn’s perspective. I thought it was more easy to be in America’s side so I really liked and respected Eadlyn in the end! I think she really changes (grows) in the last book!

      Like

Leave a Reply

