Review: Manga Classics – The Scarlet Letter by Stacy King

IMG_6140.JPG

23332877.jpg

 

Manga Classics – The Scarlet Letter 

Author: Stacy King

Publisher: Udon Entertainment

Genres: Manga, Romance, Classics

Pages: 308

Format: Ebook

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions, are as always, my own.*

A powerful tale of forbidden love, shame, and revenge comes to life in Manga Classics: The Scarlet Letter. Faithfully adapted by Crystal Chan from the original novel, this new edition features stunning artwork by SunNeko Lee (Manga Classics: Les Miserables) which will give old and new readers alike a fresh insight into the Nathaniel Hawthorne’s tragic saga of Puritan America. Manga Classics editions feature classic stories, faithfully adapted and illustrated in manga style, and available in both hardcover and softcover editions. Proudly presented by UDON Entertainment and Morpheus Publishing.

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-45

I have to start by saying that I haven’t read the original classic so, I didn’t know what to expect of the book and I can’t compare it at all with the original story.

I enjoyed the artwork. Once again, it was beautiful! I don’t know if the characters’ emotions would be according to the original classic or not, but they were nice and easy to understand.

However, the story itself was not very easy to understand. I had problems connecting to the characters, problems understanding their actions. Some things didn’t make much sense. There was this part were Pearl turned evil because her mom wasn’t wearing the scarlet letter and she didn’t recognized her. The minister was also weird in some parts, evil-y weird. I don’t know what to make of it.

For sure I need to read the original because I have tons of doubts with this book. Hopefully they will be clarified and I will be able to like more than I did!

The book felt rushed, it lacked emotion and if you haven’t read the original classic I would recommend it before reading this manga!

If it wasn’t for the artwork I wouldn’t have given it 3 starts, but being the artwork what I most value in a manga (obviously), I can’t say I didn’t enjoy it!

 

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-30

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-04-58

Have you read the original The Scarlet Letter? What did you think?

4 thoughts on “Review: Manga Classics – The Scarlet Letter by Stacy King

Leave a Reply

