Review: Manga Classics – Les Misérables by Stacy King

IMG_6143.JPG

21433251

 

Manga Classics – Les Misérables

Author: Stacy King

Publisher: Udon Entertainment

Genres: Manga, Historical Fiction, Classics

Pages: 337

Format: Ebook

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions, are as always, my own.*

Adapted for stage and screen, loved by millions, Victor Hugo’s classic novel of love and tragedy set in 19th century France is reborn in this fantastic new manga edition!

Gorgeous and expressive art brigns to life the unforgettable stories of Jean Valjean, Inspector Javert, and the tragic Fantine in this epic adaptation of Les Misérables!

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-45

I haven’t read the original classic, and neither have I seen the movie. All I knew is that it was passed during the French Revolution.

Starting with the artwork, since it’s the thing that counts more for me in reading manga, it was once again fantastic. I don’t know if they follow the classic or not but it was definitely amazing.

It was an extremely emotional and tense book. The book is filled with heart-aching twists, so there were obviously a lot of sad moments but there were also some that were so fantastically beautiful! I loved the story so so much.

Also the characters were amazing! I really got attached to some of them in this little time reading the book, while others I hated with all my heart. Other characters I was expecting a bit more… Cosette didn’t appear as much as I was hoping, but nonetheless it was obvious she was a great person and I really liked her.

The only thing I didn’t like as much was that a lot of the scenes happened way too fast and sometimes I felt that I might be missing something. The story is still well understood without those scenes, but it would have been even better with them.

It did made me want to read the original classic so much!

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-30

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-03-54

Have you seen the movie or read the book? What did you think?

One thought on “Review: Manga Classics – Les Misérables by Stacy King

Leave a Reply

