Review: My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories edited by Stephanie Perkins

IMG_6124.JPG

20309175

My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories edited by Stephanie Perkins

Series: Twelve Stories

Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin

First published October 14th 2014

Genres: Young Adult, Short Stories, Romance, Contemporary, Holidays

Pages: 336

Format: Paperback

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

If you love holiday stories, holiday movies, made-for-TV-holiday specials, holiday episodes of your favorite sitcoms and, especially, if you love holiday anthologies, you’re going to fall in love with My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories by twelve bestselling young adult writers, edited by international bestselling author Stephanie Perkins. Whether you enjoy celebrating Christmas or Hanukkah, Winter Solstice or New Year’s there’s something here for everyone. So curl up by the fireplace and get cozy. You have twelve reasons this season to stay indoors and fall in love.

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-21

The book has one story from each one of this authors: Stephanie Perkins, Rainbow Rowell, David Leviathan, Holly Black, Kelly Link, Gayle Forman, Myra McEntire, Kiersten White, Mathew de la Pena, Jenny Han, Ally Carter and Laini Taylor.

All the stories are related to the holidays in some way or another but the theme varies, so there’s somehow something for everyone to relate with!

 

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-45

*Probably I should rate every single story individually, like a saw a lot a of people doing at Goodreads. But it didn’t look very appealing, so I don’t want to do it that way. I will talk about what I though of the book in general and which short stories where my favorites!*

I really enjoyed this book, and it has been in my TBR for a while but I obviously wanted to read it during the holidays so I kept postponing it. But finally I got to it, and I have to say that it’s hard not to like this book if you are a Holiday fanatic like I am (I mainly am a Christmas fanatic but I love everything about the holidays anyway).

The book really does have a bit of everything. Some things are a bit forced but nothing that makes me not like it. It’s just that some stories are plain normal but then, they have something different that the author adds, that is, let’s say “liked by the public” and there you go, it turned special.

But there are others that I really loved. And that made me cry a lot, which is not at all hard, but still.

My Top 5 stories are:

Midnights by Rainbow Rowell – This was probably my favorite and it was a bit weird to be the first story in the book, because it was hard not to compare stories. The story itself was funny, and just lovely. It was really simple but just perfect.

Angels in the Snow by Matt de la Penã – Can’t say it wasn’t a bit weird because it was. But in the end I really enjoyed it! I am probably being influenced by the fact that it contains a cat… But still, it was sweet and it made me smile.

It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins – Couldn’t expect less from Stephanie Perkins. I love her stories and how they make my smile go ear to ear. This story was so cute and warm-hearted!

Welcome to Christmas, CA by Kiersten White – This one was lovely! It made me cry and smile, and it was full of different emotions and magic. And it left me mouth watering!

The Girl Who Woke the Dreamer by  Laini Taylor – I wasn’t expecting to see such a powerful story in a book like this. I was expecting more “fluffiness”. This was beautiful and unexpected! It was sad, but all the magic and belief in it compensate for it, and the end turned it into one beautiful holiday fairy tale.

 

In general the book has a lot of imagination and sometimes the titles made me a little afraid of what the story was going to be like, (some are not very appealing, they are funny but not appealing) but they managed to surprise me quite a lot.

It’s the perfect read for December, either to read “all at once”, like I did, or a story per day. But many stories will melt your heart and put you in a jolly-holly spirit.

 

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-30

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-04-07

Do you enjoy reading holiday related books? What’s your favorite?

4 thoughts on “Review: My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories edited by Stephanie Perkins

Leave a Reply

