Review: Manga Classics – Great Expectations by Stacy King

IMG_6173.jpg

23332875.jpg

 

Manga Classics – Great Expectations

Author: Stacy King

Publisher: Udon Entertainment

Genres: Manga, Classics

Pages: 312

Format: Ebook

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions, are as always, my own.*

Great Expectations has it all: romance, mystery, comedy, and unforgettable characters woven through a gripping rags-to-riches tale. Naive Pip, creepy Miss Haversham, beautifully cold Estella, terrifying Abel Magwitch, and the rest of Dicken’s fantastic cast are perfectly envisioned in this new adaptation in this 300-plus page volume featuring artwork by artist Nokman Poon. Proudly presented by UDON Entertainment and Morpheus Publishing.

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-45

 

I’ve never read the original classic so I can’t be sure if it follows exactly the same way or not. However, if it is like all the other manga classics I’ve read until now, it will at least cover the basic story.

This was not the best I’ve read. I felt it was interesting but also a bit dull. It dragged a lot and I didn’t really feel much connected to any of the characters. It also felt a bit rushed, and it was a bit of a shame because the plot was actually quite interesting.

I did like the feeling of the book tho. It was quite dark and sad, the story being centered around themes like revenge, non-correspondent love, family relationships…

The artwork was made by other artist – Nokman Poon – and it was pretty good! It has a lot of detail and it paid a lot of attention to the emotions. Especially Miss Havisham. She looked really scary!

I am glad I read it, but maybe if I would’ve read it before, I would have connected a bit more to the story and characters. Also I came to know that the end of the manga and the original classic is different, which is a pretty interesting idea.

Contrary to the others, I would recommend this book mainly to a person that has read Great Expectations before and would like either to remember or to see a manga format of it, especially since the end is different.

 

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-30

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-04-58

 

One thought on “Review: Manga Classics – Great Expectations by Stacy King

Leave a Reply

