Review: Christmas at Rosie Hopkins’ Sweetshop by Jenny Colgan

IMG_6127.jpg

18172194

 

Christmas at Rosie Hopkins’ Sweet Shop by Jenny Colgan

Series:  Rosie Hopkins’ Sweet Shop #2

Publisher: Sphere

Genres: Womens Fiction – Chick Lit, Contemporary, Romance, Fiction

Pages: 432

Format: Paperback

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

 

Rosie Hopkins is looking forward to Christmas in the little Derbyshire village of Lipton, buried under a thick blanket of snow. Her sweetshop is festooned with striped candy canes, large tempting piles of Turkish Delight, crinkling selection boxes and happy, sticky children. She’s going to be spending it with her boyfriend, Stephen, and her family, flying in from Australia. She can’t wait.

But when a tragedy strikes at the heart of their little community, all of Rosie’s plans for the future seem to be blown apart. Can she build a life in Lipton? And is what’s best for the sweetshop also what’s best for Rosie?

Treat yourself and your sweet-toothed friends to Jenny Colgan’s heart-warming new novel. The irresistibly delicious recipes are guaranteed to get you into the festive spirit and will warm up your Christmas celebrations.

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-45

I liked this book, although considerable less than the first one, which was a surprise for me since I was especially interested in this one, since the beginning.

I felt that this book was a lot more dull than the first one. It did have a nice Christmas-y vibe that I appreciated and a lot of drama that I also enjoyed, but the principal character didn’t change much. There wasn’t nothing that made me care much for her in this book.

I liked Lilian’s story although I could see it coming from miles away. But it was a nice miracle.

The story had once again sweets all around but much more in a common way, not so special as I found in the first book with the beginning of the chapters. But it did have an awesome section of recipes in the end that I loved!

Overall, I felt that there wasn’t much happening in Rosie’s life as opposed to around it.

The writing was once again beautiful. I really became a fan of Jenny Colgan’s writing. It’s so easy and fluent. With the right amount of funny parts and just purely sweet.

I don’t own the last book, but I intend to pick it up as soon as I can. I really want to see how the story ends.

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-04-22

Do you read Christmas books for Christmas?

2 thoughts on “Review: Christmas at Rosie Hopkins’ Sweetshop by Jenny Colgan

Leave a Reply

