December Wrap-up And January TBR

IMG_6153.jpg

It’s the last month of the year guys! I can’t believe how fast it all passed… How was your year??

In terms of reading I can say that mine was really great! I read what I consider to be a good amount of books. I started my blog that has brought me much happiness and I met many persons that share that same taste and passion for reading. I couldn’t have asked for a better year!

In December, I never read as much because I tend to pass as much time with my family as possible, but I read some pretty good books and some that even made it in my favorites for the year!

This month I read:

31394680  113946  30215662  20309175  15994514  13006132  21433251.jpg  18172194    28763485  23332875  17735849

  1. Pretty Wicked – Kelly Charon – ★★★★
  2. How The Grinch Stole Christmas! -Dr. Seuss – ★★★★★
  3. ARC: Final Girls – Riley Sager – ★★★★★
  4. My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories – Stephanie Perkins – ★★★★
  5. A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens – ★★★★½
  6. Welcome to Rosie Hopkins’ Sweet Shop of Dreams – Jenny Colgan – ★★★★½
  7. Manga Classics – Les Misérables – Stacy King – ★★★★½
  8. Christmas at Rosie Hopkins’ Sweet Shop – Jenny Colgan – ★★★½☆☆
  9. The Sun is Also a Star – Nicola Yoon – ★★★★
  10. Manga Classics – Great Expectations – Stacy King – ★★½☆☆☆
  11. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland – Lewis Carroll – ★★★☆☆

I read a total of 11 books this month. My favorite was Final Girls, that was a fantastic mystery thriller that got me hooked since the very beginning! Also Alice in Wonderland was so different from what I expected that I can hardly believe. I have absolutely no idea why I’ve never read that before! (I know it’s awful! But I knew the story and I didn’t expect it to be more than that. I was SO wrong.) It’s such a sweet, amazing book!

More related to Christmas, I really loved A Christmas Carol, although a bit difficult to get into, it was such a fantastic read. And even more magical than the movie.

I also really enjoyed the two books I read from the Rosie Hopkins’ Sweet Shop trilogy. They are chick lit, which I normally don’t read much. But I loved it! And I definitely intend to buy the last book.

Last but not least, I really really enjoyed The Sun is Also a Star – it was such a fast cute read! I loved the writing style and although, in my opinion, it was a very impossible story to happen in real life, I can’t deny how sweet it was!

– You can check my page: My Reads 2016 for more information about all the books I read through the year – I will update the list every week with the reviews of every book so make sure you check it out! – and about the books themselves through the links to Goodreads!


IMG_6155.jpg

And now, for the new year! My January TBR is a bit of a blur right now.

I always find it difficult to choose books for the beginning of a new year. (anyone else? sigh) I don’t know why because it’s not for lack of options as my TBR pile is ginormous, and there’s always amazing new books coming up in January. Plus I have an amazing family that always gets me books on Christmas.

I think the problem is too much books actually. And too less time. I have amazing new books and I want to read them all at the same time!  But since that’s impossible, I made a TINY list of the most probable reads.

My Choices:

30065028.jpg  21414439.jpg  29939390  29056083.jpg    27074515.jpg

I obviously had to include some Christmas goodies in my TBR…

I have been wanting to read Truthwitch for a long time now because I love witches and books with magic in it. So I intend to buy the second book as soon as it comes out and read it. Plus those covers!

I also really want to read Harry Potter and The Cursed Child because 1st I love Harry Potter and 2nd I have never read a script in my life. And hopefully I will also be able to read Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, since I haven’t seen the movie and I totally need to!

And last but not least The Dark Days Club that I have had for a while but haven’t read it. The second book is coming out in the end of January, and I am really interested in reading it since it’s not a genre that I normally go for.

Hope you all have/had an amazing New Year! Best wishes!

Captura de ecrã 2016-12-13, às 18.09.59.png

What will be your first read of the year?

Leave a Reply

