ARC Review: Just the Two of Us by Georgie Capron (no spoilers)

IMG_6187.jpg

33357791

 

Just the Two of Us by Georgie Capron

Series: standalone

Publisher: Aria

Expected publication: February 1st 2017

Genres: Fiction, Adult, Romance

Pages: 311

Format: ARC

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions, are as always, my own.*

Lucy is the wrong side of thirty and tormented daily by the idyllic family pictures cluttering up her Facebook newsfeed. All of her friends seem to be getting married and having babies, and yet here she is, resolutely single, and no prospect of creating the perfect family she’s always dreamt of.

How she longs for it to be her turn.

But finding love is complicated, and as time passes she wonders if there might just be another way to make her dreams come true. Is she brave enough to go it alone, or is the fantasy of ‘baby makes three’ just too precious to give up on?

Funny, warm, and a story for our time, Just the Two of Us will make you laugh and cry, and remind you never to give up on love.

Read More »

Review: The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner by Stephenie Meyer

IMG_6085.jpg

8033769.jpg

 

The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner – an eclipse novella by Stephenie Meyer

Series: Twilight #3.5

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Genres: Romance, Young Adult, Fiction, Paranormal

Pages: 153

Format: ebook

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

 

Fans of The Twilight Saga will be enthralled by this riveting story of Bree Tanner, a character first introduced in Eclipse, and the darker side of the newborn vampire world she inhabits. In another irresistible combination of danger, mystery, and romance, Stephenie Meyer tells the devastating story of Bree and the newborn army as they prepare to close in on Bella Swan and the Cullens, following their encounter to its unforgettable conclusion.

Read More »

Review: Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer + movie

img_6071

3358608

 

Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer

Series: Twilight #3

Publisher:  Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Genres: Romance, Young Adult, Fiction, Paranormal

Pages: 628

Format: Paperback

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

 

‘Bella?’ Edward’s soft voice came from behind me. I turned to see him spring lightly up the porch steps, his hair windblown from running. He pulled me into his arms at once, and kissed me again. His kiss frightened me. There was too much tension, too strong an edge to the way his lips crushed mine – like he was afraid we had only so much time left to us. As Seattle is ravaged by a string of mysterious killings and a malicious vampire continues her quest for revenge, Bella once again finds herself…

Read More »

Review: The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

IMG_6194.jpg

cover95192-medium

 

The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

Series: The Bear and the Nightingale #1

Publisher: Random House UK, Ebury Publishing

First published January 10th 2017

Genres: Fiction, Fantasy, Historical Fiction, A / YA, Retelling

Pages: 336

Format: ARC

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions, are as always, my own.*

‘Frost-demons have no interest in mortal girls wed to mortal men. In the stories, they only come for the wild maiden.’ 

In a village at the edge of the wilderness of northern Russia, where the winds blow cold and the snow falls many months of the year, an elderly servant tells stories of sorcery, folklore and the Winter King to the children of the family, tales of old magic frowned upon by the church.

But for the young, wild Vasya these are far more than just stories. She alone can see the house spirits that guard her home, and sense the growing forces of dark magic in the woods…

Atmospheric and enchanting, with an engrossing adventure at its core, The Bear and the Nightingale is perfect for readers of Naomi Novik’s Uprooted, Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus, and Neil Gaiman.

Read More »

Review: New Moon by Stephenie Meyer + movie

img_6070

2243541

 

New Moon by Stephenie Meyer

Series: Twilight #2

Publisher: Atom

Genres: Romance, Young Adult, Fiction, Paranormal

Pages: 497

Format: Paperback

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

For Bella Swan, there is one thing more important than life itself: Edward Cullen. But being in love with a vampire is even more dangerous than Bella could ever have imagined. Edward has already rescued Bella from the clutches of one evil vampire, but now, as their daring relationship threatens all that is near and dear to them, they realize their troubles may be just beginning…

Read More »

Review: Windwitch by Susan Dennard (no spoilers)

IMG_6183.jpg

29939390

 

Windwitch by Susan Dennard

Series: The Witchlands #2

Publisher: Tor Teen

Published January 10th 2017

Genres: Fantasy, YA

Pages: 400

Format: Hardback

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

 

Sometimes our enemies are also our only allies…

After an explosion destroys his ship, the world believes Prince Merik, Windwitch, is dead. Scarred yet alive, Merik is determined to prove his sister’s treachery. Upon reaching the royal capital, crowded with refugees, he haunts the streets, fighting for the weak—which leads to whispers of a disfigured demigod, the Fury, who brings justice to the oppressed.

When the Bloodwitch Aeduan discovers a bounty on Iseult, he makes sure to be the first to find her—yet in a surprise twist, Iseult offers him a deal. She will return money stolen from him, if he locates Safi. Now they must work together to cross the Witchlands, while constantly wondering, who will betray whom first?

After a surprise attack and shipwreck, Safi and the Empress of Marstok barely escape with their lives. Alone in a land of pirates, every moment balances on a knife’s edge—especially when the pirates’ next move could unleash war upon the Witchlands.

Read More »

Review: Twilight by Stephenie Meyer + Movie

IMG_5873.jpg

871224.jpg

 

Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

Series: Twilight #1

Publisher: Atom

Genres: Romance, Young Adult, Fiction, Paranormal

Pages: 434

Format: Hardback

Buy: Book Depository / Book Depository | Amazon

When Isabella Swan moves to the gloomy town of Forks and meets the mysterious, alluring Edward Cullen, her life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn. With his porcelain skin, golden eyes, mesmerizing voice, and supernatural gifts, Edward is both irresistible and impenetrable. Up until now, he has managed to keep his true identity hidden, but Bella is determined to uncover his dark secret. What Bella doesn’t realize is that the closer she gets to him, the more she is putting herself and those around her at risk. And it might be too late to turn back …

Read More »