Review: The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon (no spoilers)

IMG_6175.jpg

28763485

 

The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Series: Standalone

Publisher: Corgi Childrens

November 1st 2016

Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Romance, YA

Pages: 348

Format: Paperback

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-21

The book talks about love at first sight, fate and destiny. Do our lives follow a plan? Or is everything just a bunch of coincidences? We can’t know. We can only choose to believe or not. In this book we have a scientific mind (Natasha) and a poetic mind (Daniel). One believes, the other doesn’t.

But what is irrefutable is the chemistry they feel between each other.

Now he just has to convince Natasha that they were meant for each other.

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-45

I  absolutely love this story! It’s definitely way too dreamy but it’s so amazingly cute!

 

I really liked the characters. And how different they were. Natasha with her facts and scientific believes, and Daniel with his romantic, sweet soul. I don’t believe in so many “coincidences”, but it certainly was the cutest thing that could ever happen!

Despite the book taking place in one single day, it doesn’t feel that it progresses overly fast. Yes, their “relationship” is taking part in that day but it’s not that they went without the part of knowing a bit of each other, other than jamming into each others arms at first sight.

I also loved how one action could change so much other peoples’ lives. And I truly believe in that. One simple act in the right moment sometimes can really change a lot. In this book we don’t know much about these characters, but we know enough to cause compassion, to at least care about them.

I loved the writing style! It was extremely enjoyable and easy to read. I also really liked the alternated POV between Natasha and Daniel, and some random characters that appeared through the story. I really found the scientific facts awesome as well, and the way they were talked about was so simple and interesting!

I have also to mention that the end wasn’t at all what I was expecting, since it’s a contemporary. So I found it really interesting! You should totally read this book to find out what happens!

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-30

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-04-07

What character most defines your believes? Natasha or Daniel?

8 thoughts on “Review: The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon (no spoilers)

    • Thank you!! 😀 … Hope you enjoy this one! I haven’t read the other book yet, but I really liked this one, especially the writing style. And that’s mainly why I am super excited to read Everything, Everything! I flipped through the pages and it looked so cool! Have you read it yet?

      Like

  1. I have been seeing this book around but I am yet to read it. The premise sounds interesting especially that bit of everything happening in a day. I am curious about how the author managed to fit everything into a day. Were there flashbacks or is everything happening in the present?

    I will definitely add this to my TBR. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! It’s basically all in the present. And other than Natasha and Daniel, we also have other characters POV of the same moment. So technically sometimes there’s parts that are from the same time as others, only a different POV.
      The characters are all very different and there’s even some shock of cultures and so on.
      I liked how simple it was but at the same time how much it contained.
      Hope you enjoy it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

