Review: Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

img_6182

21414439

 

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

Series: The Witchlands #1

Publisher: Tor Teen

Published January 5th 2016

Genres: Fantasy, YA

Pages: 415

Format: Hardback

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

 

On a continent ruled by three empires, some are born with a “witchery,” a magical skill that sets them apart from others.

In the Witchlands, there are almost as many types of magic as there are ways to get in trouble—as two desperate young women know all too well.

Safiya is a Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lie. It’s a powerful magic that many would kill to have on their side, especially amongst the nobility to which Safi was born. So Safi must keep her gift hidden, lest she be used as a pawn in the struggle between empires.

Iseult, a Threadwitch, can see the invisible ties that bind and entangle the lives around her—but she cannot see the bonds that touch her own heart. Her unlikely friendship with Safi has taken her from life as an outcast into one of reckless adventure, where she is a cool, wary balance to Safi’s hotheaded impulsiveness.

Safi and Iseult just want to be free to live their own lives, but war is coming to the Witchlands. With the help of the cunning Prince Merik (a Windwitch and ship’s captain) and the hindrance of a Bloodwitch bent on revenge, the friends must fight emperors, princes, and mercenaries alike, who will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-21

 

Iseult, is a threadwitch – she can see those threads that link other people together, unfortunately she can never see ties of her own but that is something to be expected.

Safiya is a truthwitch – which means she can always tell if someone is lying or telling the truth.

They are best friends and threadsisters. But, truthwitches are rare, so she always had to keep her ability a secret because it would put her and her loved ones in danger if someone discovered. They swore to always protect each other until the end.

When Safi’s secret is discovered her life is in danger. And both girls have to run for their life because, not one person is after them, but nations.

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-45

 

I will start by saying how much I love this cover! It’s seriously beautiful!! And there are a lot of covers that I love, but just for you to see how much I love it – I bought a Hardcover. YES, a hardcover! Now, that may seem quite normal for some. But for me that is something very rare! First of all they are extremely expensive in my country and second of all, way too heavy. So after actually trying a couple of times reading hardcover books (mainly when there’s no other way) I can definitely say that I am not a fan of it. I love paperbacks and I just couldn’t find this cover in paperback so I just had to. And I do NOT regret. My wrists may hurt and my wallet might be a lot emptier but I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!

Enough babbling and to the review.

I really hoped I would love this book and…. I kinda did… because I truly loved the story. However, I did have some problems with it. Mainly the world building that was very complicated to understand and sometimes, I found myself a bit lost.

The beginning was very hard to get in, but when I finally did I really enjoyed the ride.

This book is packed full with action. Like 90% of it is action. Sure, it was mainly about everybody after Safiya, but it was still exciting (although after so much action, I am quite worried about what some characters will have to endure in the next book…). It also had some darkness in it that was very welcome to change a bit from the central characters. But a thing I did not understand in the plot is why is she so valuable. I mean, if it was me I would go for a bloodwitch for example, not her (hopefully that will also be explained).

The book has truthwitches (obviously), bloodwitches, windwitches, threadwitches, water, fire and hearth healers, glamourwitches, tidewitches, and more. It was exciting to see new powers coming up all the time and some of them were actually really exciting!

About the characters, I liked to see Safiya and Iseult together but I still would hope for a bit more of a connection other that being threadsisters. Because in all the book they were either separate or together, and one was badly injured. They were always in some kind of danger and always trying to help each other and I can’t say they don’t care for each other but I didn’t feel that they actually needed each other.

“Mhe varujta”

My favorite character was the bloodwitch and after that Evrane. The first, because it actually surprised me (although I am still trying to understand him) and the second, because she was so secure of herself and had such strong believes (that were actually not explained either, which I really wanna know!!).

 

Like I said, the word building was very confusing. It got a tidy bit better towards the end but still not enough to catch up in all the action. I hope the second book will be a bit clearer because it definitely has potential.

Even after so much confusion, I can’t say I didn’t like it. I just hope the next one gets better in the points I mentioned.

So, overall, it was a confusing but extremely exciting read, since I love everything about fantasy and magic and especially witches. So I already pre-ordered Windwitch, which I will start as soon as it reached my mail box!

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-30

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-04-07

 

If someone got some answers for me in my doubts I would love to read! 

9 thoughts on “Review: Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

  1. I have been thinking whether I should read this book or not for some time now and the truth is I hadn’t read any reviews that made me really want to read it!!! After reading your review I thing I’m ready to dive into this world!!! Thanks!! Now I will definitely buy it!!😊😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw thank you! It certainly has flaws especially in the world building – and if you can get pass that you will much probably enjoy it – but I just can’t help but really like it! Some of the characters are pretty cool and the magic is really interesting. I think it’s a series that could really be amazing if the next books will answer all the questions that this one gave… The best way would be a prequel. This series definitely needs a prequel focused on the world. But I would totally recommend it! 😀 Hope you enjoy it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve seen the cover for this book online a few times and thought it was nice, but your picture of it makes it look absolutely gorgeous!! I have been umming and ahhing about whether to read this series – I tend not to like it if there is too much action and not enough worldbuilding (or just confusing worldbuilding) so that makes me hesitant, but it sounds like there were plenty of other things to like about it so maybe I will give it a try!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I absolutely love it! And the spines are also super pretty! In terms of world building it certainly isn’t the best >.< I really love the world but it needs a lot more explanations… But it does get better. The first part of Truthwitch was a bit messy, full of action – mainly running away … Windwitch was much better structured in that matter. So if you can get past it in the first one, I think it's worth it! Also I really enjoyed the characters and I felt a massive change from one book to the other. Hope you enjoy it!

      Liked by 1 person

    • The US ones are just everything! ❤ I NEVER buy hardback books unless they don’t seem to be getting a paperback any time soon. But I just couldn’t make myself look the other way when I saw those… They are just so interesting to look at! So much detail and I love magic and witches and stuff like that so I really needed them 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

