Review: Twilight by Stephenie Meyer + Movie

IMG_5873.jpg

871224.jpg

 

Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

Series: Twilight #1

Publisher: Atom

Genres: Romance, Young Adult, Fiction, Paranormal

Pages: 434

Format: Hardback

Buy: Book Depository / Book Depository | Amazon

When Isabella Swan moves to the gloomy town of Forks and meets the mysterious, alluring Edward Cullen, her life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn. With his porcelain skin, golden eyes, mesmerizing voice, and supernatural gifts, Edward is both irresistible and impenetrable. Up until now, he has managed to keep his true identity hidden, but Bella is determined to uncover his dark secret. What Bella doesn’t realize is that the closer she gets to him, the more she is putting herself and those around her at risk. And it might be too late to turn back …

giphy.gif

I am sure all of you already read this books so this review will contain some minor spoilers but I haven’t read all of them… And I am really happy that I finally decided to read them! I own all the movies and all the books now, since I just bought the last one but I also never saw all the movies with the hope that one day I would finally read them! And that moment is now since there is no better time than halloween time for me to read some vampire-y stuff!

But in case you are in the same situation as me… I will talk briefly about it.

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-21

A teenage girl named Bella (Isabella) Swan was moving to Forks, Washington to live with her father Charlie. She wasn’t at all that thrilled because she hated the weather there. It was almost always either raining or foggy in Forks unlike in Arizona where it was always sunny and dry.

At school, she was the new kid, daughter of the so well known police chief – Forks was a small town so almost everyone knew everybody. Everyone wanted to know her, to be friend with her or even more. It was lunch time when she ‘met’ them, the Cullens. She was however particularly drawn to the handsomely perfect Edward, who turned to be more than who she thinks he is.

Edward quickly developed a special attention to her – Edward and the whole Cullen clan were vampires that feed on animals because they didn’t want to kill humans – because Edward had the gift of hearing people’s thoughts and she was the only one he couldn’t and he wanted to know her, to know what she was thinking, to know why was she different. But he wasn’t thinking how different she was going to be from all other people.

Edward’s sister Alice could see the future and one day she predicted that some dangerous vampires were coming to town but they were not as civilized as the Cullens!

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-45

This one is a re-read for me but it’s my first time reading it in english so still a new perspective! 😛 I thought it more gooey in my own language…

I really like Twilight and I actually enjoyed it more in english but I would have enjoyed it much more back then! I guess the age in this types of books really makes a big difference… Also, I guess that reading it now when there are so many vampire stuff already in the world, doesn’t make it sound so original as it was when it first came out.

It’s a nice (and cheesy tho) romantic story and I am really interested in seeing how it will “develop” to the last book! I want to see more danger!

Anyway it’s a cute story and plus I love love LOVE vampires!

About the characters I thought the Cullens were such a cool family/clan! And they are all so different from each other! And also different from other outsiders like James. They are definitely the type of vampires I would like to exist! You can trust them and coexist with them with turning into a snack so thats a good start!

I really like Edward in this book, he is so protective and charming But I think the character I most love in this book is Alice. She is the sweetest thing ever!! Her actions are always so much more ‘free’ than the others’… And the way she reacts with Bella is lovely! Her happiness is contagious!

Bella is just a simple teenager but she is for sure different from all persons in Forks. She is more open minded and clearly she as a lack of self preservation! She seems sometimes a bit naive or dumb but thats what makes her special, right? I actually ended up liking her!

Also I really want to know more about the Quileute people!

I love that the writing, I mean is very simple but extremely catchy. It just makes it flow so easily and you read the book in no time!

The story develops in America, mainly in Forks which is pretty tiny. But I loved all the moments passed between Edward and Bella in the forest. But my favorite part has to be the baseball game! I love that part when the bad guys finally appear and turn things a bit more interesting!

But the thing I love more about the vampires in Twilight is that they have some additional powers other than the obvious! I would have so much fun having Edward’s power! To be able to hear everyone’s thoughts (at least for a day, I don’t think I could take it always >.<)?! Sign me in! And it’s because of that that I believe it must be awkward not being able to hear one person all of a sudden since it never happened before. Especially being the person he likes… But it wouldn’t be much fun if he could, it would actually be creepy.. Pretty convenient huh?

Overall I liked the book and I intend to continue reading them. I really want to know the end! But I really hope they get a bit more fast paced!

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-53-21

The book is much better than the movie (like always apparently) – although I like both – the information given in the movie in some parts is not enough at all.

The characters in the movie, especially Bella I felt none of the emotional connection that I did in the book. Their love wasn’t very realistic and because we can’t see what she thinks she just seems like a rag doll moving from here to there and that’s it.

Also the last part happens way too easy in the movie and much more anxiously in the book!

I still enjoyed seeing it but between book and movie? Definitely the book!

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-30

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-04-07

Do you like Twilight? 

Would you re-read it?

What’s your favorite part in this book?

6 thoughts on “Review: Twilight by Stephenie Meyer + Movie

  1. Great review. I know it’s not the most popular opinion these days but I still love Twilight. It’s one of those books I’ll just pick up and read a random chapter or watch the movie if it is on. I’ve seen and read it far too many times. Totally agree the book is better than the movie. I think the casting of Bella is all wrong but I do love her father in the film.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! 🙂 No it’s not… And that’s why I never read the full series until last year (Shame on me!). But although I can see it’s not the best novel in the world, it’s certainly very appealing and even more if I was a teenager. In relation to the movie I totally agree with you! I just can’t connect with her. She is way too expressionless for a supernatural world. But I really did like her father for sure!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely review! Though Twilight isn’t my favorite book and I now realize its many flaws, I’m still pretty fond of it. I probably wouldn’t enjoy it as much as I did back then if I were to ever reread it, but I would still read a chapter or two here and there. I still enjoy it on a basic level haha. And yes, the book is much better than the movie. Although, I really appreciated the movie’s soundtrack! I’m glad you liked the book though!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

