Review: Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer + movie

img_6071

3358608

 

Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer

Series: Twilight #3

Publisher:  Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Genres: Romance, Young Adult, Fiction, Paranormal

Pages: 628

Format: Paperback

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

 

‘Bella?’ Edward’s soft voice came from behind me. I turned to see him spring lightly up the porch steps, his hair windblown from running. He pulled me into his arms at once, and kissed me again. His kiss frightened me. There was too much tension, too strong an edge to the way his lips crushed mine – like he was afraid we had only so much time left to us. As Seattle is ravaged by a string of mysterious killings and a malicious vampire continues her quest for revenge, Bella once again finds herself…

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-21

In this book we return to the town of Forks. Graduation is closer and after that she will have what she always wanted – to be a vampire. As days pass, Bella must choose her fate. To became immortal, she must give up her family and friends. She is also worried about the change: will she be able to be a “vegetarian” like the Cullens or will she kill innocent people because of that?

Bella is also worried that she cannot see Jacob, her best friend because he is a werewolf, and due to her ties to the vampires, it would break treaties made between them and thats all she wants to do right now.

Mean while, a ‘serial killer’ is loose in Seattle and it turns out to be obviously supernatural – newborn vampires. This makes Bella fear more her decision to become immortal – to see how they act and how difficult is their world.

And as if she didn’t have enough problems. Jacob wants more from her and he would do everything for it.

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-45

Well, this was a let down… This book truly annoyed me. In the last book there was some stuff I already didn’t like much but I was hoping it didn’t get worse. Well, it certainly did!

Bella is officially an idiot person. I did like her character before and I hope she changes for better this time but in this book I didn’t like her at all. She is reckless, she is purely dumb – I can’t even say naive anymore, no, thats dumbness! She has no moral and everyone around her still praises her. How is that even possible?

Also it really makes me angry how purely she makes decisions. As if they didn’t have any impact in life! She is constantly going back and forward – Edward. No, Jacob. No, Edward! AH, get a grip!, always confused, always making people pity her on how bad of a person she is. ARGH! How can a pity this? I tried but now, at 22 years, I can’t! I would have to be at least 15 to do that and I am pretty sure I would still be a bit annoyed.

I know that this is the point of the book BUT it’s way too much stretched! It’s like a circle and I don’t like that. I like to see the story moving!

Just to make a point. I do like Jacob – when he is not stupid like Bella because he often was in this book (yeah, yeah it’s because he loves her. Honestly? That’s not enough excuse for some of his actions) – it’s just that if she is with someone, she can’t be playing with a person’s feelings. And since it always has been Edward, at least she should have some moral to make it clear. Or if she is not that sure who, she shouldn’t be with no one in that moment!  I mean, we are talking about a 18 years-old person…

The good sides:

I always like the battles! And the vampires! I had a great time when the battle finally came up, although too short it was pretty cool; expected, but cool! Also I love Edward, he is way too good to be true! And I did feel sorry for him a lot in this book since he was the one actually in a relationship with her…

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-53-21

The movie was enjoyable! It didn’t have so much emotional torture >.<. I liked especially the battle, obviously…

The negative side was that it didn’t seem much as an actual movie (that makes sense) but kinda more like a bunch of moments from the book stitched together. It seemed that it jumped from moment to moment and in the middle it lost even more than in the other movies.

In the end the movie was all about Bella being with Jacob or being with Edward. It was mainly an erotic battle inside the “triangle”.

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-30

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-04-58

What pros and cos did you find in this book / movie?

What is your opinion on Bella?

9 thoughts on “Review: Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer + movie

  1. I agree haha. Bella did annoy the heck out of me in this book. Her indecisiveness was the near death of me. And though I was Team Jacob for this book, his actions also pissed me off. I felt like every body was making bad choices. But the action and battle sequences saved this book and the movie for me! The love triangle, though, got to be a bit much in this book. Hopefully you enjoy the last book and last two movies much more than this one 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I mainly liked this book because it’s like a soap opera (and okay I like vampires and what to get to the end of the story ;P). But I just argh… She annoys me so freaking much that I kept rolling my eyes every 5 seconds… I totally agree. The action and the battles are what made this book. Because other than that nothing much happened…
      Oh yes!! I did like the next ones more that’s for sure! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Couldn’t agree more!! I first read the series when I was 13 years old, so I wasn’t very critical about Bella, but with every re-read I do, I find her more annoying 😛 Have you read The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner? As you prefer the battles, I think you’d enjoy that. It’s about the new vampires Victoria created!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Me either! I was all in ahh and aww (and possibly drooling) with the first books when I first read them! …
      I did!! I have a review coming up for that one 😛 I loved it! Sad.. But definitely more “realistic”. And seeing the movies was nice to have kind of a inside view in other character! Did you enjoy it?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

