ARC Review: Just the Two of Us by Georgie Capron (no spoilers)

IMG_6187.jpg

33357791

 

Just the Two of Us by Georgie Capron

Series: standalone

Publisher: Aria

Expected publication: February 1st 2017

Genres: Fiction, Adult, Romance

Pages: 311

Format: ARC

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions, are as always, my own.*

Lucy is the wrong side of thirty and tormented daily by the idyllic family pictures cluttering up her Facebook newsfeed. All of her friends seem to be getting married and having babies, and yet here she is, resolutely single, and no prospect of creating the perfect family she’s always dreamt of.

How she longs for it to be her turn.

But finding love is complicated, and as time passes she wonders if there might just be another way to make her dreams come true. Is she brave enough to go it alone, or is the fantasy of ‘baby makes three’ just too precious to give up on?

Funny, warm, and a story for our time, Just the Two of Us will make you laugh and cry, and remind you never to give up on love.

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-45

I really wanted to love this book. I was so ready for a light hearted, cute contemporary… Unfortunately, this wasn’t that book. I wasn’t expecting it to be an adult book but it feels like one to me. So I had a bit of a hard time adjusting.

The beginning was nice, but about a third of the way through, it began to slide downhill. I thought it was a bit too much of the same in Lucy’s life and I couldn’t connect to the character. At some parts it was totally predictable… But the last 100 pages were much better and thrilling. I enjoyed the end a lot. It turned out much more emotional and just the perfect ending.

The book is slow-paced, even with all the girl drama, which didn’t really help.

I have a love-hate relationship with Lucy. In some ways I do understand her and her situation but I thought it to be overly depressive. I know that she wants a baby and a family desperately, and that shouldn’t be much to ask but sometimes life doesn’t go as it should. But she was so affected by it that she couldn’t see her life as it was.

I really enjoyed seeing her relationship with her family and friends. And I thought she didn’t really have much reason to be so depressive. She was terribly insecure and always saw everyone as being better than her. Sure she didn’t have her prince charming and a baby… but she tried to rush everything too much and ended up in chaos always.

Other than that…I really enjoyed the writing. I think it was very fluid and simple. And I would recommend this book for more mature readers. I though it was an OK book but not my style at all.

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-30

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-05-12

Leave a Reply

