Review:Happily Ever After by Kiera Cass

IMG_6220.jpg

24465724

 

Happily Ever After by Kiera Cass

Series: The Selection #0.4 / 0.5 / 2.5 / 2.6

Publisher: HarperCollins

Published October 8th, 2015

Genres: YA, Romance

Pages: 387

Format: Paperback

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

Meet Prince Maxon before he fell in love with America, and a girl named Amberly before she became queen. See the Selection through the eyes of a guard who watched his first love drift away and a girl who fell for a boy who wasn’t the prince. This gorgeous collection features four novellas from the captivating world of Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series, as well as exclusive, never-before-seen bonus content.

This series companion is a must-have for any Selection fan, and includes:

The Prince
The Guard
The Queen
The Favorite
Exclusive new scenes from The SelectionThe Elite, and The One
Introductions to each novella from Kiera Cass
A map of Illéa and other illustrations
And more!

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-45

 

I really enjoy Kiera Cass’s books. They are kind of a guilty pleasure to me. They always put me in the best of moods and I have a lot of fun reading them. I thought this book was an amazing addition to The Selection series.

I loved to see the story from others’ POVs, and they seemed so genuine. They fitted perfectly in the story. The main part of the book is divided into 4 novellas and I will talk about each of these.

The Queen

The Queen was the first novella and the one I most wanted to read. I always wanted to see Amberly’s side of the story, although I can’t really agree with her about Clarkson. I was already terribly calculative back then and sure he didn’t have the best of parents but he was still a lot worse as one. But at least he wasn’t that bad with Amberly.

The Prince 

The Prince was probably the one I most enjoyed. It reminds me of The Heir. But because he is a guy and has very different parents it was really interesting. I was already expecting a lot of the moments in this novella, but it was so nice to read them! Especially how anxious he was about the Selection… He is adorable!

The Guard

This one was okay. I mainly liked the part about him and Lucy. Although it was a bit sad… I already didn’t like some of Aspen’s attitudes but this one made me feel them even more. He almost lost her because of that and I feel sorry for Lucy… But at least it all worked out in the end.

The Favorite

I really enjoyed this one! It was great to find out how Marlee and Carter met and what happened to them after their public humiliation…. They are so sweet together! And I loved to see how she stayed with America in the end.

Three Scenes from Celeste’s POV

I’m not gonna lie. I hated Celeste in the beginning. Which is easy to do, because we only see her actions and nothing more. But by the end of the series, she turned into one of the most awesome characters! So this was a must read! It was emotional, I loved it and I miss her!

The Maid – Lucy’s Chapters

I always liked Lucy. I mean, who wouldn’t?! She is extremely sweet! And I do like her with Aspen even though she didn’t deserve some of those attitudes from him, but in the end, I think he is the right person for her.

After The One

I loved it! It was so sweet and emotional and ahh I love them together! And she changed a lot her posture but she is still herself. It was just the perfect ending!

Where are they now?

This was a follow-up of Natalie, Kriss, and Elise and it was a really nice addition. I loved how different their reactions were and their lives after the selection ended.

Also, the part where they tell about the war in New Asia thing made me hate Clarkson even more. He is so evil! I wonder if the queen knew about it…


The illustrations 

The illustrations were freaking amazing! Simple, but detailed and just plain beautiful! I loved that the author decided to add them!


If you’ve read the Selection series, I would definitely recommend reading this one!

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-16-30

captura-de-ecra-2016-10-19-as-22-04-07

Have you read it already?

If so, which novella is your favorite?

If not, which novella are you most excited about?

3 thoughts on “Review:Happily Ever After by Kiera Cass

Leave a Reply

