ARC Review: Moranifesto by Caitlin Moran (no spoilers)

IMG_6297.jpg

9780091949068

Moranisfesto by Caitlin Moran

Series: standalone

Publisher: Ebury Publishing

This version will be published March 9th 2017

Genres: Nonfiction, Feminism, Humor,  Biographies & Memoirs

Pages: 448

Format: ARC

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions, are as always, my own.*

‘I’ve lived through ten iOS upgrades on my Mac – and that’s just something I use to muck about on Twitter. Surely capitalism is due an upgrade or two?’

When Caitlin Moran sat down to choose her favourite pieces for her new book she realised that they all seemed to join up. Turns out, it’s the same old problems and the same old ass-hats.

Then she thought of the word ‘Moranifesto’, and she knew what she had to do…

This is Caitlin’s engaging and amusing rallying call for our times. Combining the best of her recent columns with lots of new writing unique to this book, Caitlin deals with topics as pressing and diverse as 1980s swearing, benefits, boarding schools, and why the internet is like a drunken toddler.

And whilst never afraid to address the big issues of the day – such as Benedict Cumberbatch and duffel coats – Caitlin also makes a passionate effort to understand our 21st century society and presents us with her ‘Moranifesto’ for making the world a better place.

The polite revolution starts here! Please.

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-12-27-44

I never read nonfiction books. They just don’t catch my attention so I stopped searching for them long time ago.

But when the publisher sent me this one, saying that I would probably like it, I had to try out. I hate to keep thinking “what if…”. What if I actually would really like it? I mean I can’t say if I don’t read it right?! Well, thank heavens I read it! Because I’ve never read anything by the author and now I’m capable of buying each and every one of them!

I absolutely loved how quirky her sense of humor was! It was delightful to read this book. Be aware that it does have some colorful language. But in my opinion that’s what makes it seem so realistic.

The book is constituted by tones of columns and articles. The theme varies: quotidian, feministic, political, … Basically there’s a lot of thoughts about everything. But what is the most phenomenal aspect about this book is that a lot of these thoughts are relatable. While we are reading, we notice that we too, have thought the same things over and over, but never thought of talking about it! That’s the best part about this author. She just shows herself and her thoughts as they are, without even blinking. She is not afraid of what others may think of it. She doesn’t feel the need to disguise her thoughts, her ideas or herself. In less words, I love her! She is freaking amazing and I can’t even believe I didn’t know her! Obviously I am not American or even from an English speaking country, so that kind of gives me an excuse for not knowing her (?). But I wish I did before! Better late than never….

She talks about random things, let’s say… printers! (I loved that one), about technology, British culture, … And some heavier matters like feminism, politics, rape, terrorism,… And I have to say that some parts were just eye-opening. Honestly, I think she just can’t change the world if she doesn’t have any help, because the way she sees everything it’s phenomenal! A thing I really liked, is that she often makes examples using herself.

I love to write and highlight my favorite thoughts and quotes from the books I read, but if I am to put in my review all my favorites, I think this post would be the copy of the book… I have so freaking many, that is utterly unbelievable. I love everything about this book! Her way of thinking, her writing, her humor, her self-esteem, her intelligence, everything! It’s engaging, it’s funny and it talks about both heavy and light matters in a way that is impossible to put down. 

If this was a fantasy book, she would be my favorite (kick-ass heroine) character!

Sure the book has some articles more interesting than others, just like any other book. But it’s overall just AMAZING.

I would definitely recommend this book! But keep in mind that, if you’re a shy person,  you might not want to read it inside a bus full of people. I tried that and I just had to stop reading. I couldn’t possibly stop laughing and it was getting really uncomfortable… I would think that someone who saw me that day would classify me has a lunatic and never get near… But if you would be okay with it, then be my guest! I would love to be that extrovert!

Some quotes:

“These days, if your child announced that they wanted to be a politician most people would react as if they had come down to the breakfast table and said, ‘Mother, Father – I’ve decided to become a massive pervert.”

“It’s amazing to me that it’s still considered a notable, commendable trait –‘Oh, she’s a well-known feminist’ –in a woman, or a girl, or a man, or a boy. That that is the unusual thing. Really, it should be the reverse. Rather than what seems like a minority having to spend time, energy, brain and heart explaining why they’re ‘into’ equality, the majority should be explaining why they’re not.”

“I’m so tired of this shit. Batman never had to get together a petition with 250,000 signatures on it when he wanted to change things. He just went and rammed the Batcar into the Penguin’s den. Why can’t I ram a Batcar into the Penguin’s den? I wish I was Batman.”

“We live now in a glorious age which we might term ‘Post Frozen’. Frozen – the feminist Disney movie where the idiot sexy prince turns out to be a betraying motherfuck, and the whole plot revolves around, instead, the love of two sisters.”

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-12-27-40

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-14-32

Do you read nonfiction?

Have you ever read anything by Caitlin Moran? 

One thought on “ARC Review: Moranifesto by Caitlin Moran (no spoilers)

Leave a Reply

