ARC Review: The Lost Children by Helen Phifer (spoiler free)

IMG_6643

34440733

The Lost Children by Helen Phifer

Series: Detective Lucy Harwin #1

Publisher: Bookouture

Expected publication: March 24th 2017

Genres: Adult, Thriller

Pages: 320

Format: ARC

Buy: Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*

Lizzy pulled the covers over her head. Then she realised what was being dragged behind the person with the torch. She rammed her fist into her mouth to stop herself from screaming…

For decades, The Moore Asylum was home to the forgotten children of Brooklyn Bay. But ever since a scandal forced its closure, the abandoned building has cast an imposing shadow. Until now – when an elderly man is found dead, his body strapped to an ancient gurney…

Detective Lucy Harwin, still reeling from a previous case that ended in the devastating murder of a mother and her child, finds herself on the trail of a killer ruthlessly fixated on avenging the asylum’s wrongs.

What disturbing secrets lie within the asylum’s walls? Together with her partner Detective Mattie Jackson, Lucy begins to unearth its terrible history, and the horrors endured by the vulnerable children.

As the attacks escalate and a woman is murdered on her own doorstep, Lucy is forced into a terrifying game of cat and mouse with a twisted individual. But can Lucy stop a murderer with nothing left to lose?

An absolutely terrifying and gripping thriller that will chill readers of MJ Arlidge, Angela Marsons and Rachel Abbott to the bone.

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-12-27-44

I never thought I would like an adult book this much! I normally don’t really go for it but I’ve been enjoying thrillers a lot and when I saw this one with detectives I just knew I had to pick it up!

A thing about me is that I absolutely love Police series. I love Criminal Minds, CSI, NCIS, Castle, Law & Order, Dexter, Bones, Alarm für Cobra 11, … You got the point. I just love to see them over and over and I never get tired. And that’s mainly why I got this book. I don’t think I ever read a detective novel (at least in English), and if I did it was way too long ago.

Also, look at that cover, it’s beautiful! It’s so dark and gripping! I had to have it. But although I love the cover, it’s a tidy bit misleading. Because the book doesn’t have that many chapters passed in the asylum. But that didn’t make it bad! I just thought I should mention because I was expecting slightly more.

A thing you have to know about this book is that, although it’s gripping because you wanna know what will happen, it’s also a lot slow passed in the beginning. I thought I wasn’t even going to like it this much because only halfway I actually started getting more enthusiastic about it. But that’s also normal, I’m mean it’s a police series, and they are never that fast-paced until the end. Because in reality, police work is even more slow, as the author mentions.

And talking about that, I really enjoyed that the author was part of the police in her life, and tried to make the characters the most believable possible, from her own experience. And for me, that was a plus!

I really enjoyed the characters and see what they were up too. How their personal and professional lives entangled. And how sometimes it’s difficult to not feel personally responsible for some event.

I loved to follow Lucy and Matty. They were amazing working together, and I thought their friendship was very powerful and really touched me. Especially, Lucy, she is a bit of a workaholic, which is easy to be when we love a job that much. She used to put her personal life in second and sometimes that’s not a good idea but I loved that she was still able to show that they are both the most important things she has.

I really enjoyed how the mystery was entailed. I’m not gonna lie, I was expecting the end from halfway the book. But it still managed to surprise me in some parts. I loved that it was dark but it was still easy to connect and the way it makes you feel that we are part of it.

The writing was okay, I liked it because it was easy to read and it felt a bit personal. Sometimes it might have been a bit too much, but nothing that would make me stop reading it.

Overall, the story was definitely gripping and I ended the book needing more! I can’t wait to read what is Lucy up to next! I would definitely recommend this book if you like police books/series!

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-12-27-40

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46

What’s your favorite police series (be it a book or a tv show)?

One thought on “ARC Review: The Lost Children by Helen Phifer (spoiler free)

Leave a Reply

