ARC Review: But Then I Came Back by Estelle Laure (spoiler free)

IMG_6680.jpg

27202450

But Then I Came Back by Estelle Laure

Series: Standalone

Publisher: HMH Children’s Book Group

Expected publication: April 4th, 2017

Genres: YA, Contemporary, Romance

Pages: 288

Format: ARC

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*

Eden Jones, a 17-year-old girl, feels lost after surviving a near fatal accident. Unable to connect with her family and friends, Eden forms an unlikely relationship with Joe, a boy who comes to the hospital to visit Jasmine, a friend who may soon be gone forever. Eden is the only person who can get through to Jasmine, but is she brave enough to face a world that’s bigger and more magical than she ever would have allowed?

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-12-27-44

 

When I started reading this book I didn’t even know about This Raging Light. Only when I ended this, I saw that they are connected. The main character changes in this book, and I feel that there’s only so little that we miss. That said, I don’t think that it’s needed to read the other book prior to this one. 

I really liked this book and especially the theme. I read it all in one day, which is saying a lot since I still had work, but somehow I still managed, which surprised me!

This book starts in a way that made me a bit lost but it still managed to grip me pretty soon and I just wanted to know more and more of what was going on! I will try not to enter in many details but mainly, this book talks about during and after coma experiences. 

Now, not everybody believes in the same things and certainly, not everybody passed through it. I never lived anything remotely similar but I always found the theme really interesting and intriguing. 

The story was made really believable, although it also talked about channeling, which is once again not something everybody believes. It might be difficult for some people to connect with the book since a lot of the themes are very controversial. I did like that part tho, it makes it a bit more mysterious and I like to believe that is possible, although I’m a bit skeptical.

The characters were all very realistic and interesting, and after some pages, I was already rooting for Eden and Joe. They are just so cute together! I really liked all the characters and all the support Eden got from them, after her accident, but that at the same time they wouldn’t let her just act stupid with them. I liked that she was not treated like a vegetable. I also really enjoyed that the hospital environment was very helpful – it would be amazing if it was always like that in real life… And I obviously have to mention Jasmine in here, because I really liked her part in the book, it was simple but it was beautiful!

This book made me cry once in a while and I thought it was extremely adorable. It also had a slightly bittersweet aftertaste, which I was quite happy about. I do think it might not be a book for everybody but I definitely recommend it!

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-12-27-40

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-14-32

What was the last book you read that make you cry?

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: But Then I Came Back by Estelle Laure (spoiler free)

Leave a Reply

