ARC Review: Definitions of Indefinable Things by Whitney Taylor (spoiler free)

IMG_6684-2.jpg

26221374

Definitions of Indefinable Things by Whitney Taylor

Series: standalone

Publisher: HMH Children’s Book Group

Expected publication: April 4th, 2017

Genres: YA, Contemporary, Romance

Pages: 336

Format: ARC

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*

This heartbreaking, humorous novel is about three teens whose lives intersect in ways they never expected.

Reggie Mason is all too familiar with “the Three Stages of Depression.” She believes she’s unlocked the secret to keeping herself safe: Nobody can hurt you if you never let them in.

Reggie encounters an unexpected challenge to her misanthropy: a Twizzler-chomping, indie film-making narcissist named Snake. Snake’s presence, while reassuring, is not exactly stable—especially since his ex-girlfriend is seven months pregnant. As Reggie falls for Snake, she must decide whether it’s time to rewrite the rules that have defined her.

 captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-12-27-44

This was the first book I read about depression. Like, everybody, I love books where I’m able to connect with the characters. But somehow, when it’s something like this it still makes me uncomfortable.

This type of books make me think a bit too much, and it’s not necessarily a bad thing if I am in a good moment. But if I’m not it’s not very easy to read about. Depression is a theme that I feel that it is very easily misunderstood. And very easily dismissed. I don’t want to overly share my life in this post but I’ve been there, and whenever I’m not, I always come back to that. So, I felt that I really understood the characters and that the representations were very accurate.

Clinical Depression is not easy to deal with and this book shows it incredibly well. Reggie has depression and she hides behind a mask. She is trying to protect herself from all the pain and frustration that she feels living her life. She talks about all the elements of it, like drugs, therapy, symptoms, side effects and the impact it has in her life. A thing I really liked is that the symptoms and the reasons are different from Reggie to Snake. Which made it more realistic! Because it will never be the same to everybody.

The book not only talks about depression, but it also touched subjects like religion, LGBT, family love, friendship, love, and teen-pregnancy … And they all wrap very well in each other.

I really liked the characters in this book. Reggie, Snake and even Carla (Snake’s ex-girlfriend), that at first, I wasn’t so sure about since we see it from Reggie’s perspective. But my favorite characters have to be Snake’s moms. I loved every part they entered! They just made the book lighter…

I felt it was a bit heavy but that’s the point of the book. I loved the writing and especially the humor and sarcasm, which for me are always welcome. It was incredibly fast to read and very enjoyable. There’s a lot of amazing quotes that show the reality of depression, but it also has encouragements in it that I loved.

I laugh a lot during this book but it also made me cry loads. It was overall a unique amazing story, showing life through the eyes of a depressed person and I would most definitely recommend it!

 

Some Quotes:

“Depression is only as complex as the person who’s defining it.”

“You’re damned if you do and you’re damned if you don’t.”

“I am not a functioning human today.”

“And I wanted people to be there when I called them. And I wanted me not to be me. I wanted too many things for one person.”

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-12-27-40

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-14-32

3 thoughts on “ARC Review: Definitions of Indefinable Things by Whitney Taylor (spoiler free)

  1. This sounds like quite a heavy read. All the themes sound heavy but I am glad to see that they were well represented in the book in a manner that also made the characters relatable. Definitely one for my TBR. Fab review Joana!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! ❤ It was a bit heavy in my opinion but it also has a lot of sarcasm and humor (which I am a very big fan of) that made it more easy and fast to read. Really hope you enjoy it!! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

