Review: City of Ashes by Cassandra Care

IMG_6649

81I73aZsCBL

City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

Series: The Mortal Instruments #2

Publisher: Walker

First published March 28th, 2008

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance

Pages: 415

Format: paperback

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what’s normal when you’re a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who’s becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn’t ready to let her go — especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary’s only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil — and also her father.

To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings — and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?

In this breathtaking sequel to City of Bones, Cassandra Clare lures her readers back into the dark grip of New York City’s Downworld, where love is never safe and power becomes the deadliest temptation.

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-12-27-44

To be honest I thought a lot if I should give this book fewer stars or not because I did enjoy it a bit less than the first one. But there was also stuff that I liked much more…

For those who haven’t read this book, there will be SPOILERS. I was thinking of doing a spoiler free review. But this book didn’t have that much that I enjoyed that wouldn’t be a spoiler. So if I didn’t have those, the review would be too generic.

Starting with some overall spoiler free thoughts, I am starting to get really into this world! I always liked the supernatural stuff, so that’s not difficult but it’s just so compelling to read about (and secretly wish that it was all real!).

We have once again Shadowhunters and Downworlders – such as werewolves, vampires, fairies, and warlocks. But this time we know a bit more about warlocks and fairies, which I enjoyed, seeing that normally when we read about supernatural stuff, it’s always about the other two.

Also, we get to know a bit more our characters and I got super attached to them! I still love Jace and his humor and honesty. Alec with his big heart, and Isabelle, that appeared a bit more, and is showing how badass she is! And even their cute tiny brother Max.

Clary was a bit too whiny for my taste, but I saw some changes too, she is more confident and being more shadowhunter-y, so I’m hoping she gets better each book. And of course Simon, that I will talk a bit more afterward, Luke that is the most amazing dad ever, and Magnus, with all his charm! He is such a nice character! He has also the type of humor I enjoy and he is just so adorable! And to top it off we have the most despicable, manipulative person of all, Valentine. We do know some other interesting characters but I won’t enter too much in detail.

I am still undecided about who my favorite character is, but I am starting to really like Alec (especially with Magnus), which I didn’t at first. And I still really like Jace and Luke. But I’m hoping Isabelle appears even more in the next books!

I think this book has a lot of imagination and I loved all the demon appearances that happened because I love to know new powers and the dark side of the story.

Also, the writing was okay, to be honest, I didn’t notice that much change comparing to the first book, like other people, but like I said in the first one, I liked it. I like the humor, I think it’s engaging and it’s fairly fast to read.


Now, to the juicy stuff!

I loved many parts of the story and I wanted to talk about some.

I absolutely loved the part with the silent brothers, they are extremely creepy but I wasn’t expecting them dying tho. I thought the way they did was very interesting and creative, so I’ve been very pleased with the ideas Cassandra Clare has.

I loved the parts of Alec and Magnus, I thought they were extremely cute, and at the battle when Magnus gives everything to save him, it’s so freaking sweet! I really like them together and I hope I see more of them in the next books! And just like those, I also loved all the parts where Luke appears, I really like him and the way he protects Clary. He is such a good paternal figure!

I hated Imogen so much! You guys have no idea! AH, she was such a monster! I know the reason but it still was very difficult to read those parts, because I wanted to help Jace and I couldn’t! Do you guys feel impotent in some parts of books, or is it just me?!

And the part with the fairies was so cruel and inspected and yet so amazing! I really liked Clary and Jace together. And in this book, I got really frustrated with them. They are never synchronized and I can’t handle anymore! I know they say they are brother and sister but I can’t help it! I loved them together… Anyone else??

And that’s basically all I will mention in this review because it’s turning already way too big (sorry!).

Overall I really liked this book and I totally get why people like this series, and I’m happy I own them because I believe I will read this again someday!

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-12-27-40

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46

What’s your favorite character so far?

14 thoughts on “Review: City of Ashes by Cassandra Care

  1. This series is a big one…and personally we liked the third and sixth(the last of The Mortal Instrument series) book more. So you should continue and we promise you Clary becomes less annoying! Plus there’s more Malec (Magnus and Alec) and Isabelle. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • I really like the world and that’s the main thing I like about these books… I really wanna like them and people say they get better, but so far I’m in the third book and I feel the same way as you do… I think I would have enjoyed it way more some 4 years ago or so. But I’m still hoping! 😛 I will check out TID after this book and see if it’s more appealing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

