Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

IMG_6283.jpg

22839894

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s

Published May 5th, 2015

Genres: Fantasy, YA, Romance, (New Adult)

Pages: 416

Format: Paperback

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

Feyre is a huntress.

She thinks nothing of slaughtering a wolf to capture its prey. But, like all mortals, she fears what lingers mercilessly beyond the forest. And she will learn that taking the life of a magical creature comes at a high price…

Imprisoned in an enchanted court in her enemy’s kingdom, Feyre is free to roam but forbidden to escape. Her captor’s body bears the scars of fighting, and his face is always masked – but his piercing stare draws her ever closer. As Feyre’s feeling for Tamlin begin to burn through every warning she’s been told about his kind, an ancient, wicked shadow grows.

Feyre must find a way to break a spell, or lose her heart forever.

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-12-27-44

I got this book as soon as it came out and only now I read it… Plus, this is the first Sarah J. Maas book that I’ve ever read and after all the hype around every.single.one.of.her.books I was expecting to like it a lot more than I did.

I think my main problem with this book is that I was expecting a retelling of Beauty and the Beast and I got no Beast… Beauty and the Beast is one of my favorite Disney movies so I was really excited, but I didn’t really get what I was hoping…

Another thing I wasn’t expecting was such romantic scenes as we had and for sure not sexual. I thought this was YA, but it’s going a lot towards new adult. And that was definitely not something I was looking for…

And to end my complaints, I thought the book had a lot of dull moments for my taste. I mean, I loved the beginning, because it reminded me of Beauty and the Beast and Feyre seemed a really strong character and I liked the Under the Mountain part at the end, but I was expecting more – it all seems too fuzzy. So there were a couple of moments that I enjoyed, but I wasn’t very excited to read the book every time I got to it.

But the good part was that I actually really liked the world. I found it intriguing, and it was easy to visualize. I also really enjoyed the magic aspects, but I needed more! Everything was way too focused on the romance, and I wanted action… Plus their romance evolves way too fast, and I still can’t believe that Feyre loves Tamlin other than for his looks and sexiness. But let’s see, I hope she maintains things that way at least since she was so sure about it. I hope she proves me I’m wrong and that she actually feels something for him. Because I am sensing once again, a love triangle.

I liked the characters, I can’t say I didn’t but they are all too cute… I mean, even the supposedly bad ones, were not that bad… I don’t know, I expected more nastiness than I got. The character I am most interested in reading about now is Rhysand! And hopefully, he will still maintain who he is!

For a fantasy book, I have to say that I want more than this. But I have to say that I really liked the writing and the world, and since I have the next book and people say it’s much better I intend to give it a try!

Overall I liked the book, but I was expecting way more… Hopefully, the next book will have less romance and more action!

 

Best Quotes:

“Don’t feel bad for one moment about doing what brings you joy.”

“Pity those who don’t feel anything at all.”

“We need hope, or else we cannot endure.”

I was expecting more… But those were good ones!

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-12-27-40

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46

What’s your favorite character in this book?

20 thoughts on “Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I felt the same way you did with the genre part. I thought it was YA but why are there parts that could pass as NA? Lol. Anyway, great review Joana! I haven’t read the second book yet but I’m about to because the third book is almost out. 😀 And we have the same rate of ACOTAR. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome review! 😀
    I already knew the books are more like NA rather than YA, so that didn’t surprise me, and I was highly spoiled for it, so most twists didn’t surprise me either. Other than that, I really enjoyed it! It was my first SJM book too, and I found the world super interesting! And I loved Lucien here, he was one of my favorite characters.

    ACOTAR & ACOMAF SPOILERS AHEAD FOR ANYONE READING THIS *

    I saw one post online, saying that this retelling showed Feyre breaking the curse and seeing Tamlin for the beast he was. And then falling in love with Rhys, who seemed like a beast, because that’s what everyone thought of him, but seeing him for what he truly was.

    I’ll be waiting for your ACOMAF review 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! 😀 Mine too! He seemed such a nice character! But now that I read ACOMAF… Ahh I feel betrayed! 😛
      Well, that is a very good way of putting things! That makes it more retelling-ish. I really need ACOWAR now, that end left me more than excited! >.<
      My review is coming around the beginning of May, I can’t wait to see your thoughts! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Is it so bad that I still want him to be happy? haha THAT END THO, THAT END 😛
        Have you pre-ordered ACOWAR? I did, but it’s the paperback edition, so I have to wait until May 2nd and then BD will ship it (hopefully). A lot of people are getting their copies earlier!
        I don’t think I’ll have a lot of time to blog next month, so I was thinking about writing a series review, instead of one by one, once I read ACOWAR. I’ll have to give a thought!! But I’ll be discussing it with you haha

        Liked by 1 person

        • Ikr?! .< I always do a lot of post in advance which has been saving me tho 😛
          I’m still waiting for my copy >.< I really desperately want to read it!!
          Yeees! I can’t wait to read your thoughts! 😀

          Liked by 1 person

            • I LOVED IT!!! I haven’t decided if I prefer ACOMAF or ACOWAR, I like them for very different reasons haha What about you?
              (I’m sorry for the long time it has been taking me for answer, school has been taking all my free time and my exams are just around the corner 😦 )

              Liked by 1 person

            • I hear you! I still have one exam to do and i haven’t been hear much >.<
              I loved it for different reasons too! 😛 On one side I found ACOMAF more thrilling and surprising. On the other, although ACOWAR was really easy to see how things were going to go, and it felt less tense. It got everything I hoped for the characters! It was more fuzzy even tho it at a lot of action and I guess I wouldn’t normally like it this much if it wasn’t for the amazing characters and world… But it’s just such a beautiful end 😍 I don’t know… They are really different. But I guess this was kinda what I was hoping for 😛

              Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

