ARC Review: Countless by Karen Gregory (spoiler free)

Captura de ecrã 2017-04-30, às 11.26.36.png

34299826

Countless by Karen Gregory

Series: standalone

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing Plc

Expected publication: May 4th, 2017

Genres: Contemporary, Mental Health, YA

Pages: 384

Format: ARC

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*

‘Is there anything that’s concerning you?’ Felicity says. ‘College, home, boyfriends?’ Though she’s more or less smiling at this last one.

I don’t smile. Instead, I feel my face go hot. Silence stretches as wide as an ocean.
When I look up, Felicity has this expression on her face like she’s just seen Elvis. Slowly, she leans forward and in a gentle voice I’ve never heard her use before she says, ‘Have you done a pregnancy test?’

When Hedda discovers she is pregnant, she doesn’t believe she could ever look after a baby. The numbers just don’t add up. She is young, and still in the grip of an eating disorder that controls every aspect of how she goes about her daily life. She’s even given her eating disorder a name – Nia. But as the days tick by, Hedda comes to a decision: she and Nia will call a truce, just until the baby is born. 17 weeks, 119 days, 357 meals. She can do it, if she takes it one day at a time …

Heartbreaking and hopeful by turns, Karen Gregory’s debut novel is a story of love, heartache and human resilience. And how the things that matter most can’t be counted. Perfect for fans of Lisa Williamson, Non Pratt and Sarah Crossan.

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-12-27-44

Honestly, I got this book because of the cover… But can you blame me?! It’s the most gorgeous thing ever! I love the design, I love the colors, it’s just perfect!

And when I started reading it I wasn’t very sure if it was for me… I read a couple of books that talk about anorexia and others that talk about pregnancy and for some reason I never enjoy them much. Maybe because I can’t relate, maybe because I wasn’t up for it at the moment, or maybe both! But this one was surprisingly good!

I really liked this book! I couldn’t really relate to the character in what was happening to her, but I definitely cared about her astonishingly much!

It’s a bit difficult to say much about this book without giving too much away, but I will try to… Hedda has been anorexic for a long time now. She has been in and out of a unit. Nothing seems to make that change… Until she realizes she’s pregnant and slowly starts seeing things differently.

I loved the way this book showed anorexia. It talks about control, about emotions, about love, and about self-image. We follow Hedda trough her days, we see how she thinks and how she acts. And slowly we start seeing changes. She is no longer sure of anything. She doesn’t know what she wants anymore. We see her struggling about what she should do with the baby and struggling about what to do with Nia (her name for her eating disorder). We see her struggling with her family, her romantic life, finances, and therapists. And I loved how the author showed all those themes and how Hedda navigated trough them until the end.

Thigs develop at an amazing pace and each page my connection with Hedda grew. It’s written in a beautifully realistic way and it’s very easy and fast to read. The book was incredibly heartbreaking, and everything is as it is, without sugar coats!

It’s the first book I actually enjoy about anorexia and pregnancy and I would definitely recommend it! 

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-12-27-40

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46

What’s your favorite book featuring mental illness?

3 thoughts on “ARC Review: Countless by Karen Gregory (spoiler free)

  1. Oh my God, the cover is absolutely beautiful!
    I’m really curious about this book, I enjoy reading about mental illnesses. My favorite one so far is probably The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay although the topic is not exactly displayed there.
    I definitely will check this one out, I’ve never read anything about anorexia but I agree it’s an important subject.
    I hope your day was great!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ikr?! I absolutely love it!! 😍
      I never heard of it but I will make sure I check it out! :O
      To be honest I only recently started getting into them, so I haven’t read that many. But anorexia is definitely not my favorite topic among all the mental illnesses, but I quite liked how this one was written, although sometimes a bit annoying, I felt it incredibly realistic, where sometimes they are a bit softened up…
      Hope you enjoy it if you get to read it! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

