Review: The Enemy Within by Scott Burn (spoiler free)

31439520

The Enemy Within by Scott Burn

Series: Standalone

Published July 24th, 2016

Genres: Sci-fi, YA

Pages: 215

Format: ebook

Buy: Amazon

* Received this copy from the author in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*

Seventeen-year-old Max has always felt like an outsider. When the agonizing apocalyptic visions begin, he decides suicide is his only escape. He soon finds himself in an institution under the guidance of a therapist who sees something exceptional in him. Just as he begins to leave the hallucinations behind, Max discovers the visions weren’t just in his head.

There are three others who have shared those same thoughts and they’ve been searching for Max. Like him, they are something more than human. Each of them possesses certain abilities, which they’re going to need when a covert military group begins hunting them down.

As the danger escalates, Max doesn’t know which side to trust. But in the end, his choice will decide the fate of both species.

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-12-27-44

Well, this was a surprise! I normally don’t read much sci-fi… Not because I don’t like it but because I can’t seem to make myself grab for them. They don’t appeal to me as much as fantasy or contemporary books. But after reading them I always find that I actually enjoy it. It’s weird I know, but because of that, I didn’t think I was going to enjoy this book as much as I did.

I haven’t read many apocalyptic books, but I seem to always enjoy them, and this one didn’t let me down. It was fast paced from the beginning and a truly thrilling ride. The idea of the book is quite easily seen a lot nowadays, but the author made it still really interesting.

The best part for me were the characters. We have Max, Noah, Jamie and Vincent. And from the very start, I really enjoyed Max. I thought he was a really great character and easy to connect with. From the other three, my favorite was definitely Noah. He always said everything that passed in his head and never cared about what anyone thought of him. I also loved that they had powers! I’m always a sucker for that… And they were super interesting, especially Max’s one!

I think the way the story is told is really interesting and gripping. I never really knew who or what to trust and that made me always want to know more.

I really liked the concept of the book. And overall I think it was a great sci-fi book, and I would definitely recommend it!

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-12-27-40

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46

What’s your favorite sci-fi novel?

4 thoughts on “Review: The Enemy Within by Scott Burn (spoiler free)

    • Aww thank you! ❤ I am not that much into sic-fi so I can’t really say I have much to compare it with… But I heard of Red Rising and it has been on my TBR for… well, way to long. I guess it’s time to get it 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

