Review: Bad Little Girl by Frances Vick

IMG_6734

cover104225-medium

Bad Little Girl by Frances Vick

Series: standalone

Publisher: Bookouture

First published February 20th, 2017

Genres: Mystery, Thriller

Pages: 325

Format: ARC

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*

‘I’m not safe – you have to help me…’

Little Lorna Bell is from a notorious family on a rundown estate. Everyone thinks she’s a nasty piece of work. The schoolchildren call her a thief. But Lorna’s hair is matted, her shoes pinch her feet and school teacher Claire Penny can’t help herself; some kids just need a bit more support, a bit more love, than the rest.

As the bond between teacher and pupil grows stronger, Claire sees Lorna’s bruises, and digs to uncover the disturbing tale behind them. Heartbroken, Claire knows she has to act. She must make Lorna safe. Just when Claire thinks she has protected Lorna, a chance encounter brings enigmatic stranger Marianne Cairns into their lives. Marianne seems generous and kind but there is something about her story that doesn’t quite add up. Why does she feel so at home, and why is Lorna suddenly so unsettled?

Claire has risked everything to save Lorna. But what can save Claire from the shocking truth?

An utterly unputdownable and darkly compelling read that will have fans of The Girl on the Train, The Sister, and Gone Girlabsolutely hooked.

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-12-27-44

 

This book was so not what I was expecting it to be! I heard a lot of bad reviews on it at Goodreads and what made me read this book was Diana’s review at A Haven for Book Lovers. And I’m so happy I read it!

The book is very slow paced, especially at the beginning and I wasn’t really sure about it because of that, but I am not a person that easily DNF’s books so I had to continue and see if something would change if I could get immersed in the book. And for sure that started happening! Slowly, it started gripping my attention and I needed to know more.

This book is very different from what I was expecting but in a really good way. I can’t really say much about the book without spoiling it, but the book is about Claire, who is a teacher. She starts taking special notice of a young girl named Lorna, that seems not to fit in. She wants to help her, so she starts to befriend her, and trying to unravel what is happening in the girl’s life. Soon she discovers that the problems are not at school but at home and she has the need to save Lorna. And that’s where everything starts to unfold.

It seems quite a normal book, right? Well, wrong! It’s so much more than that! It’s incredible unexpected, scary and just heartbreaking. I had a pretty good idea of what was happening in the book, but I still couldn’t believe it and I could get enough!

The characters were really great and we have a hell of a development. Clary was every bit lovely and I really enjoyed her. She was kind and sweet to everyone and she is a person that for sure would matter for a tiny kid’s life. She wants to help, but she doesn’t stay just with the idea of doing it, like most. She actually acts and I like to believe that I would have done the same thing as her. And Lorna was no exception, I really liked her from the beginning. She seemed sweet and sad and a little girl that would do anything for others. I loved how the characters were presented and developed and it’s that development that made me terribly angry and scared! I still can’t believe how this book ended…

The book is for sure slow paced, but it’s every bit worth a read! I would definitely recommend it if you are into psychological thrillers. The books are addictive and the end will blow your mind.

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-12-27-40

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-14-32

Are you into psychological thrillers? What’s your favorite?

7 thoughts on “Review: Bad Little Girl by Frances Vick

    • Thank you! 😀 I really enjoy thrillers but it’s what I tend to buy less because I rarely read them more than once… But I love the sensation I get when I read them… And this one is quite a messed up one! Hope you enjoy it if you try it out! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Great review. I am so glad that you ended up liking this book. It really does start out very slow but then it gets crazy very fast. The twist just got crazier towards the end. And the villain was creepy.I like what you said about Claire:-)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! 😀 I really did, first I was afraid of not liking it this much but it started to surprise me and although by the end I already knew what was coming it still manage to leave me open mouthed >.< It was quite a heavy gripping read!

      Like

  2. Again, not something I would personally read but I quite enjoyed your review! 🙂
    That’s why I’m always so hesitant to DNF a book… What if it gets better? What if it’s a hidden gem??
    Great review, once again, and I’m happy this one was able to surprise you in a positive way as well ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! 😀
      I rarely DNF books because of that… I’m always hoping! But I also tend to wait with a lot of books to see what people think about it before I get it… afraid of not liking it, especially if I need to buy it! 😛
      Weird for a book blogger right?! But I am working on it! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

