Review: City of Glass by Cassandra Care

IMG_6650.jpg

91f3zwfEmpL

City of Glass by Cassandra Clare

Series: The Mortal Instruments #3

Publisher: Walker

First published March 24th, 2009

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance

Pages: 496

Format: paperback

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

To save her mother’s life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters – never mind that entering the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she learns that Jace does not want her there, and Simon has been thrown in prison by the Shadowhunters, who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight.

As Clary uncovers more about her family’s past, she finds an ally in mysterious Shadowhunter Sebastian. With Valentine mustering the full force of his power to destroy all Shadowhunters forever, their only chance to defeat him is to fight alongside their eternal enemies. But can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their hatred to work together? While Jace realizes exactly how much he’s willing to risk for Clary, can she harness her newfound powers to help save the Glass City – whatever the cost?

Love is a mortal sin and the secrets of the past prove deadly as Clary and Jace face down Valentine in the third installment of the New York Times bestselling series The Mortal Instruments.

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-12-27-44

I’m not really sure of what to think… I am liking the series but I think it’s not really for my age, which is sad.

I wanted to love this so much, and there are a lot of moments that I really enjoy… The characters are amazing and I love the world. But a lot of the time I feel bored reading it. I don’t particularly like the main character, although she is getting a bit less annoying than in the first books, and the writing is a bit too young for my taste. Plus the plot is way too easy to guess what’s going to happen, and there’s not much stuff that surprises me.

But for some reason, I still want to read what’s coming next and the TID trilogy. Like I said I really love the world and that is apparently the same in TID, with the exception of being in the UK, I think.

I also heard that a lot of people think this series should have ended here, and for sure the author makes it possible to happen. So I’m a bit afraid of what’s going to happen next…

In terms of characters, there’s some that I just love to pieces. Magnus Bain is one of the best characters in the book, he is just so intriguing! I also really loved Alec, which I loved when he finally had the courage to go for what he really wanted. Simon, that has been growing in me since the very first book. And Luke that is the best fatherly character I’ve seen! They are such amazing characters! And obviously, Jace although he gets on my nerves sometimes. I also like Isabell but I feel that I don’t know has much about her. Clary is the only one I really have troubles connecting with, although I really like to read about her and her powers, but she just acts way to teenager-y for me.

I love the supernatural elements in this book and I think it has a lot of detail and imagination, the only thing I really don’t enjoy is that it feels too young and because of that I get annoyed easily. But the end was really pleasant to read and there was a lot of action and twists in this book, which is always a plus! A thing I was also a bit expecting and I didn’t get was the humor from the last book… This one did get much, unfortunately, and that’s a thing I really liked about the writing before.

Anyway, it’s a bit disappointing to feel this way about such a loved series, but I will still read it all since I already have the books and I am still enjoying it. Hopefully, the next books get a bit more mature, and especially TID and Lady Midnight! This is the problem of buying full collections without really testing them out, sigh!

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-12-27-40

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46

What’s your favorite character?

 

One thought on “Review: City of Glass by Cassandra Care

  1. To be honest, many who had not liked TMI liked TID more! So that may be the case for you! Also we can yell you Cassie Clare does mature up on her work in TDA and also TID! We to mainly like the whole idea of the world settings and all 😊 and Magnus Bane is truly glamorous 😉😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

