Review: The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli (spoiler free)

IMG_6736.jpg

32596757.jpg

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

Series: standalone

Publisher: Penguin

Published April 11th, 2017

Genres: Contemporary, YA, Romance

Pages: 336

Format: Paperback

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love—she’s lived through it twenty-six times. She crushes hard and crushes often, but always in secret. Because no matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is.

Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. Will is funny and flirtatious and just might be perfect crush material. Maybe more than crush material. And if Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.

There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker Reid. He’s an awkward Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him.

Right?

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-12-27-44

 

Ahh, I really liked this book! To be honest I haven’t read Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by the same author – I know, it’s inadmissible but, somehow it happened and I already bought it and I’m ready to dive in it, probably even next month – and didn’t know exactly what to expect from her. But I knew people love her books, and so I had to give it a chance!

Starting with the cover, because it’s just terribly cute, I found it so accurate after reading the book! It was a shock to me because sometimes we see some covers and we like them and we see the connection, but this one is the first one that I feel that it’s the book in an image.

This book is completely adorable! It’s incredibly easy to read and I’m now a fan of Becky Albertalli’s writing! It was extremely engaging and I am pretty sure I was with a smile on my face during all book!

If there’s something about this book that is worth talking about here is how much diversity it contains! There was representation for LGBTQ+, body-image, insemination, anxiety, homophobia, racism, etc.  And I thought that was just really interesting to read.

But on the other side, the characters although cute were missing a bit of depth. I felt that it seemed too much of a cycle. And if there’s a pet peeve for me is when a girl is going for this and that guy simultaneously, because in case one doesn’t work, she can try the other. I just hate that. So that was my only complaint about this book.

Overall I really enjoyed it, I loved the writing, and how cute and realistic the book was, I especially loved Reid! He is just the cutest character ever! Actually, if I needed to describe this book in one word it would be CUTE.

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-12-27-40

captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46captura-de-ecra-2017-02-15-as-14-13-46

What’s your favorite contemporary book?

 

6 thoughts on “Review: The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli (spoiler free)

  1. Loved your review! I don’t think I’ll read this one (not my thing) but it sure is nice to have such a diverse book that can be both cute and realistic 🙂 I don’t like it when the girl goes for two guys at the same time either but life is pretty messy so… That can happen sometimes.
    Glad you enjoyed this one so much! ^^

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

