Review: The Circle by Dave Eggers

IMG_6751

21075514The Circle by Dave Eggers

Series: Standalone

Publisher: Penguin

First published October 8th, 2013

Genres: Sci-fi, Fiction, Dystopia

Pages: 528

Format: Audiobook (+ Paperback)

Buy: Book Depository | Audible at Amazon

When Mae is hired to work for the Circle, the world’s most powerful internet company, she feels she’s been given the opportunity of a lifetime. Run out of a sprawling California campus, the Circle links users’ personal emails, social media, and finances with their universal operating system, resulting in one online identity and a new age of transparency. Mae can’t believe her great fortune to work for them – even as life beyond the campus grows distant, even as a strange encounter with a colleague leaves her shaken, even as her role at the Circle becomes increasingly public … 

Captura de ecrã 2017-05-12, às 16.02.07.png

With this book I both read a bit from my paperback copy and listened to an audiobook from Audible, narrated by Dion Graham that contained 13 hrs and 42 mins. But to be honest I mainly listened because I was feeling that the book, although the idea is amazing it was not the genre I normally go for, and it was becoming boring for me.

You know when you end a book and the only thought you have is “wtf”? Well, this book was that for me. It just ended and I didn’t really feel that it ended. I’m not sure I can put into words how I feel.

It seemed that it kept running in circles (no pun intended). I didn’t really know what I was looking for in the book. I didn’t really like the main character and as for the writing, it was okay but too repetitive. Especially the word Mae. Oh. My. God. How many times did I hear that?! I have no idea but it was driving me nuts!

But this book sure has a phenomenal idea! It’s scary and somehow realistic. It could have been more thrilling and exhilarating than it was, tho – the pace was very slow…

This book represents the idea of the world where privacy doesn’t exist, where everything is recorded for eternity, where freedom gains a different connotation. But instead of being the world already like that, like a regular dystopian novel, it’s the walk to reach that.

The idea is scary, and to be honest, in this book I am considered to be an anti-social person. Which I couldn’t have been more happy about because I didn’t like Mae and she was the total opposite of me. It has incredible messages, it shows in some way what our world is slowly turning into – it was just terrifyingly fantastic. 

This is the type of story you really have to get into with the right mind because it’s very descriptive and because of that it can get boring, but the idea is amazing, some messages that transmitted for example related to self-esteem were also delivered in a different and interesting way and for that, I would recommend, especially the audiobook! Dion Graham has the perfect voice for this book, and it turns addicting!

Captura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.19.09.png

Captura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.png

Have you read this book or seen the movie?

Share your thoughts in the comments!

21 thoughts on “Review: The Circle by Dave Eggers

  1. I understand exactly what you mean!! It was a WTH book from start to finish and I also thought it ended up too suddenly, that’s why for me this book was unfinished, but the theme and idea behind it was too important and relevant! And Mae… damn I hate that girl!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I became interested in this book after watching the movie trailer. Although there are a lot of mixed reviews, much like you, I thought the idea was so interesting and was really looking forward to knowing more about it!
    Guess I’ll stick to the movie, though. I hate confusing books that lead nowhere and main characters I probably won’t relate to at all.
    Great review, Joana! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! 😀 This was such a weird book… I was all the way till the end thinking that something major was going to happen, but it was just pretty much the same thing… It’s a really amazing idea but the way it’s done is a bit boring although still gripping (?) … Honestly, I hope no one relates to this main character >.<
      I haven’t seen the movie and I can’t say I’ve heard amazing things about it but… I will give it a try too 😛
      I hope it’s good and that you enjoy it! 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Goodness, I agree with you 100%!!!! I’m only 200 pages through The Circle and I am already halfway out of my mind in utter boredom! I love the whole idea of this one company, The Circle monopolizing businesses and getting into and directing lives through the use of social media… the idea is totally there and amazing, especially relevant in today’s age. BUT it just drones on and on the characters are NOT likable whatsoever. For me, Annie seems to be the most annoying character and the relationship between Mae and Annie utterly bizarre and inexplicable.
    Great review post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • EXACTLY!!! It could have been SO good! But… it got boring and nothing much happens. It’s really slow passed and every interactions feels stupid. I just wanted to kill everybody in that book! It’s a really important topic and even scary but the plot was just to slow and too much of the same.
      For me it was a big help that I got the audiobook of it, otherwise I think I wouldn’t have gone till the end, and it’s a bit sad, because the end is even more anticlimactic that the book, if you think it’s possible… It’s interesting but it had a lot of problems for me 😛 Have you ended it?

      Liked by 1 person

      • I know! I was so excited and looking forward to watching the movie after ending the book and now I’m just like “NOOOOOO!” Mae. Mae. Mae. And what was up with Kalden becoming Ty in the end? What was the purpose. This book left so much unresolved in the end. And I just thought Mercer was just plain weird. It was all an utter disaster and the characters were sooooooo unlikable. Unfortunately, yes I did finish the book and it was about 600 pages of disappointment.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Hahahah Exactly!! It had so much potential! Sigh… But so much annoyed the crap out of me! >.< I have yet to see the movie, I both want and don’t want to see it :/
          Mae. Mae. Mae. In the audiobook it gets haunting!

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

