Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley (ARC Review)

Captura de ecrã 2017-05-30, às 12.20.22

31952703Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

Series: Standalone

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

Expected publication: June 6th, 2017

Genres: Contemporary, YA, Romance

Pages: 288

Format: ARC

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*

Years ago, Rachel had a crush on Henry Jones. The day before she moved away, she tucked a love letter into his favorite book in his family’s bookshop. She waited. But Henry never came.

Now Rachel has returned to the city—and to the bookshop—to work alongside the boy she’d rather not see, if at all possible, for the rest of her life. But Rachel needs the distraction. Her brother drowned months ago, and she can’t feel anything anymore.

As Henry and Rachel work side by side—surrounded by books, watching love stories unfold, exchanging letters between the pages—they find hope in each other. Because life may be uncontrollable, even unbearable sometimes. But it’s possible that words, and love, and second chances are enough.

Captura de ecrã 2017-05-12, às 16.02.07.png

This book was so unexpectedly cute! I don’t know what I was expecting but it wasn’t this. I absolutely loved it!

This book approaches themes like loss, love, friendship, and grief. These are such deep themes and yet the book is really light and a very quick read. I found it beautiful the way the book proceeded and the messages were really well explored and delivered.

And to top that off, I really enjoyed the characters too. At first, I wasn’t really being able to connect, because I never really experienced such grief as Rachel has, but after some time I started feeling connected with everyone and I would love to live in this book and be friends with these people!

There’s a lot of mentions of other books because Henry’s family owns a bookshop with a lot of secondhand books and they all love to read, and we see what they think about some books and so on. I loved how they valued the books and the memories they contain.

This book made me cry my heart out. It was breathtaking. It’s such a beautiful idea and such a meaningful book! The author also surprised me in a tiny part, and I can’t tell you why, but I would really recommend this book if you love reading deep contemporary books like I do. Actually, if you like contemporary in general just read this!

Captura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.19.09.png

   Captura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.png

Have you read this book or want to read it? What’s your favorite book that features grief as an important element? Let’s discuss in the comments below!

5 thoughts on “Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley (ARC Review)

  1. Fab review. I do love a good emotional read and this sounds like it delivered in that aspect. I also like the fact that its set in a bookstore and there are mentions of other books in it. That is always a treat when it happens. Definitely one for my TBR.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! 😀 I really hope you enjoy it! It’s quite a softy book but at the same time there’s just something really special about it and the way it’s written! And like you I just love when it’s set in a bookstore!

      Like

Leave a Reply

