Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher + TV series

IMG_6749.jpg

2813153

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Series: Standalone

Publisher: Penguin UK

first published October 18th, 2007

Genres: YA, Realistic Fiction

Pages: 288

Format: Paperback

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

You can’t stop the future.

You can’t rewind the past.

The only way to learn the secret is to press play.

Clay Jensen returns home to find a strange package with his name on it. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker – his classmate and first love – who committed suicide two weeks earlier.

Hannah’s voice explains there are thirteen reasons why she killed herself. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out why.

All through the night, Clay keeps listening – and what he discovers changes his life… forever.

Captura de ecrã 2017-05-12, às 16.02.07.png

I definitely can understand why either people really like it or hate it. It is definitely a very controversial book. And it depends a bit on how you look to it, which also means that can be a bit of a trigger for some persons.

I can’t say I didn’t like the book. I actually really enjoyed it. It’s kind of a heavy read, it’s extremely emotional, but not of the crying time, but for a person that is as sensitive as me, you will definitely feel its weight on your heart. 

It’s quite a difficult theme to talk about, suicide. And not easier to read. But it is important and this book puts things in a very distinct and clever perspective.

The way Hannah proceeded, with the tapes, is definitely not the way to go, and I think that’s why some people don’t like this book. But the point of this book was to show exactly how the snowball effect works, which a lot of people seem to forget. This book shows how much other people’s actions can impact the life of a person, and it shows it incredibly well. But what I don’t understand is how people can’t see that what happens in this book, it’s very realistic and entirely possible.

Of course, no one commits suicide just because something bad happened one day, but every day the same bad things happen, adding something more, it starts to get heavy, and sometimes, for some people impossible to carry on. Everyone is different, and everyone has their own experiences, but this, what happens in this book, it’s possible. And this book shows how sometimes one word, one act can make the difference for someone else. Just like in The Sun is Also a Star, if you’ve read it. This is just a more powerful way of putting things.

If I had enough time, I could have read this whole book in one sitting. It felt really gripping and interesting because it was impossible to know what would be said next, and it was a very big emotionally charged book. I would definitely recommend the book and hope that every person can see the important message behind it.

Captura de ecrã 2017-05-28, às 01.56.56.png

First of all, if you want to see this series and read the book, read the book first. Not while you read, because they are slightly different and things appear in different moments. And at least for me, it was very easy to see the end right in the first episode, which I saw half way through the book…

It also feels a lot slower, although thrilling and emotional. But it seems that nothing much happens every episode… I can’t say I don’t like it. But it’s not much my type of series and after some episodes in, I can say that I preferred the book. I think this might be better for a person that wasn’t a fan of the book, mainly because of the thrill… It sure makes me nervous but not in a “I need to see more” way.

Captura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.19.09.png

Captura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.png

Have you read or want to read this book? What are your thoughts on it? Let’s discuss in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher + TV series

  1. Great review. I have watched half of the series but I stopped and decided to read the book. The theme is definitely sensitive but based on your review, it does sound like the author tackled it well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!! I though it was a very different way to talk about suicide. And although I don’t agree with the way the main character preceded, I think the main idea of the book was not what she did but the reasons she did it. And if you can go with the fact she did the tapes, I think it’s a song book and it sure makes a person think. I didn’t really like the series, so I stopped watching but a lot of people prefer it.. For me is just to slow and a lot more drama… The focus is not the same, and because of that I prefer the book. I hope you enjoy it! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

