This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab (spoiler free)

IMG_6765.jpg

31706495

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab
Series: Monsters of Verity #1
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
first published June 7th, 2016
Genres: Fantasy, YA, Paranormal
Pages: 480
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives. In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side—including the monsters within.

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-30, às 18.09.21

I absolutely adored this book! It was incredibly thrilling! This was my first book from the author, which I know, it’s shocking, but for some reason, I wasn’t sure I wanted to try them out – and now I want all of them… – but I gave in and got this one and read it right away.

I don’t understand why I didn’t give this one a try before because it’s right up my alley. I love fantasy and especially dark fantasy. And this book in terms of dark fantasy is awesome. I thought the idea of the book was amazing but I had some trouble understanding the world…

I thought it was amazing, all the different types of monsters and how they were characterized, it was the best part of the book for me. Supposedly there’s a certain order to this universe, but it changes every few pages, because the characters don’t know the truth either, but it still could have been a bit better in that part…

I loved the characters in this book! Especially August obviously! He was the main character and he was such a surprising warm-hearted monster, and I loved how he was characterized. I also really loved Ilsa. We don’t have much of her in the book but what we do is lovely and strong. I loved how they use their gifts and the atmosphere it created in the book.

As for the other main character, Kate, I can’t really say I loved her, but I did sympathize with her. I really enjoyed reading about her, but there were some moments in the beginning where she tended to annoy me. But I think her development was really good and the best part was how the characters connected without feeling odd or romantic! Which is quite rare nowadays…

There are also some creepy characters in this novel, that I really enjoyed reading about and that caused me some big surprises. And I loved the definition of a monster in this book!

But the most exciting part was probably the end. It felt really WTH?! That and the way music was described in this book… So gorgeous and scary!

The writing was really good and gripping. I literally carried the book everywhere and read every tiny bit I had. It’s overall a very tense and exciting book, and I will definitely get more books from the author because this was amazing and I really wanna read the next book ASAP! And if you haven’t read this book yet, you should check it out!

Some Quotes:

“Monsters, monsters, big and small,
“They’re gonna come and eat you all.
Corsai, Corsai, tooth and claw,
Shadow and bone will eat you raw.
Malchai, Malchai, sharp and sly,
Smile and bite and drink you dry.
Sunai, Sunai, eyes like coal,
Sing you a song and steal your soul.
Monsters, monsters, big and small,
They’re gonna come and eat you all!”

“I mean, most people want to escape. Get out of their heads. Out of their lives. Stories are the easiest way to do that.”

“You wanted to feel alive, right? It doesn’t matter if you’re monster or human. Living hurts.”

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-30, às 18.18.22

Captura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.png  Captura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.png

Have you read this book already? If so, let’s discuss it in the comments! If not, what are you waiting for?!

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab (spoiler free)

  1. I’ve become a Schwab fan from the moment I started A Darker Shade of Magic, so this one has been on my radar for a while. I actually thought this was a trilogy but now that I know it’s a duology I can dive right in!
    Amazing review! So glad you liked it ^^

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!! 😍 I need to read A Darker Shade of Magic >.< I own the first and second book, but I haven’t gotten around to read them yet, but I heard great things!! People say this ones are not as good, but I can’t really compare, so for me it was a great book, plus I think this one is ya and the others are adult, so I really wanna see the difference ^^ I hope you enjoy them!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you! Oh, I see 🙂 Yeah, I don’t know which one is better as I can’t compare them yet either. I actually thought they were both YA… Hm, interesting.
        I also hope you get to read Shades of Magic soon and love all the books! ❤

        Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s