What To Say Next by Julie Buxbaum (ARC Review)

captura-de-ecrc3a3-2017-06-30-c3a0s-18-44-22.png

30199656
What To Say Next 
by Julie Buxbaum

Series: Standalone

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Expected publication: July 11th, 2017

Genres: Contemporary, YA, Romance

Pages: 272

Format: ARC

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*

Sometimes a new perspective is all that is needed to make sense of the world.

KIT: I don’t know why I decide not to sit with Annie and Violet at lunch. It feels like no one here gets what I’m going through. How could they? I don’t even understand.

DAVID: In the 622 days I’ve attended Mapleview High, Kit Lowell is the first person to sit at my lunch table. I mean, I’ve never once sat with someone until now. “So your dad is dead,” I say to Kit, because this is a fact I’ve recently learned about her.

When an unlikely friendship is sparked between relatively popular Kit Lowell and socially isolated David Drucker, everyone is surprised, most of all Kit and David. Kit appreciates David’s blunt honesty—in fact, she finds it bizarrely refreshing. David welcomes Kit’s attention and her inquisitive nature. When she asks for his help figuring out the how and why of her dad’s tragic car accident, David is all in. But neither of them can predict what they’ll find. Can their friendship survive the truth?

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-30, às 18.09.21

I love this. I love this. I love this so much!!

I was so not expecting this book to be so good! It’s the first book I read from the author, although Tell Me Three Things has been in my TBR for way longer.

This book is so freaking good! It’s sad, it’s beautiful, it’s emotional, it’s unique. It’s everything I wanted!

I read it all in two sittings, while I was sick, and I was so happy I got to read this! This is such a touchy story! I don’t want to spoil anyone, but I think it’s important to say a thing that isn’t in the synopsis, because if I knew that I would have gotten to this book even earlier!

David is on the spectrum – Asperger’s Syndrome. Which since it changes from person to person and I only know one person with this syndrome, I don’t know how accurate the book is, but it seems pretty realistic to me. Things like social awkwardness, high IQ, and apparently problems with motoric skills, which I didn’t know about, are normal to have and it’s what in this case David has… In his case, it’s actually mild, but it’s of course, nonetheless difficult for him and for his family.

In school, David was always bullied or avoided, and being noticed was even rarer than the previous ones. Until one day Kit comes and sits at his table, to “be alone”. I really liked how their friendship developed and I couldn’t wait for more moments with them.

David was the best character I’ve encountered so far this year. I loved him to pieces. He is cute, awkward but in a sweet way and as honest as one can be. It was so refreshing and interesting to read about him! I loved to see how strong willed he was and how he adapted himself, in a world that is not as kind as it should be. Kit was also a nice character, although sometimes I didn’t really know what to think of her. But I still understood since she was grieving her father and things seemed to get only worse instead of better. And more than that I loved them together, getting to know each other.

If you’re not new to my blog, you probably already know how much I love books that have strong friendship values and this one was extremely inspiring. I devoured this book and loved every moment of it. There were moments that I couldn’t take the smile out of my face and others where I just wanted to cry. It was both heartbreaking and warm-hearted.

Although there is a part I hoped to be a bit clearer, I had to give this 5 stars because I loved this book that much. Definitely a favorite, and I would recommend it if you like a good and unique contemporary book!

This is a beautiful and unique contemporary book that will for sure surprise you! Highly recommended!

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-30, às 18.18.22

Captura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.png

Have you read this book? What did you think of it? Let’s discuss it in the comments below!

4 thoughts on “What To Say Next by Julie Buxbaum (ARC Review)

Leave a Reply

