Review: The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

IMG_6757.jpg

9780064401883

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett
Series: Standalone
Publisher: HarperCollins
First published in 1911
Genres: Classic, Children, YA, Fiction
Pages: 358
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

This 100th anniversary edition of The Secret Garden celebrates a cherished classic with Tasha Tudor’s wonderful illustrations throughout, an extended author biography, games, activities, and more!

When orphaned Mary Lennox comes to live at her uncle’s great house on the Yorkshire Moors, she finds it full of secrets. The mansion has nearly one hundred rooms, and her uncle keeps himself locked up. And at night, she hears the sound of crying down one of the long corridors.

The gardens surrounding the large property are Mary’s only escape. Then, Mary discovers a secret garden, surrounded by walls and locked with a missing key. One day, with the help of two unexpected companions, she discovers a way in. Is everything in the garden dead, or can Mary bring it back to life?

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-30, às 18.09.21

I absolutely love this book! It’s one of my ultimate favorites and I am re-reading it for the first time in way too long!

I still remembered everything… I still could visualize the movie from my childhood and I love it more and more every time. It’s such a beautiful easy read!

The characters in this story are just kids. They are not perfect and that’s what makes this story so powerful. It’s very easy to connect with the characters, especially if you are a kid yourself. I read it when I was young so I have a very deep connection with this story.

It shows so perfectly that sometimes a person that has everything money can buy can be the saddest of them all. Money can’t buy love or friends. A kid that has his parents present, that has love, that has other children to play with – those are the happiest of them all, even if nowadays they don’t realize it right away. I know things changed a lot since this book was written, but it is none the less the most wonderful reality of them all. One that is rarely seen now and that makes me sad.

And that’s also why my favorite character in this book is Dickon. He made me realize how much I had, the value of what is around us and the world itself. He also made Mary and Colin realize that. It’s amazing how different a child can be according to the environment around them.

And another thing that is lovely about this book is how much it shows my childhood. I was born in a time electronic things were starting to be more important than anything else, but I was lucky enough to still had my fair part of playing outside. And this book shows how important and amazing that is. Some people seem to forget the value of it nowadays.

I really love the writing in this book. To be honest it’s much better than in my mother tongue. And it really makes the whole book seem different. Especially because of the  Yorkshire dialect.

This book is nostalgic in every possible way. It’s beautifully written and the story is just simply gorgeous. It will make you think and treasure the tiny things around us. I would recommend this book to everyone!

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-30, às 18.18.22

Captura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.png

Have you read this book or seen the movie? What do you think of it? Let’s discuss it in the comments!

7 thoughts on “Review: The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

  1. I love your picstagram and the cover of this book. It’s so cute and I’m glad to know the read is as fantastic as the cover. I can’t wait to read it and I’m glad to know you enjoyed the book immensely! Great review!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

