Because You Love to Hate Me: 13 Tales of Villainy edited by Ameriie (spoiler free)

IMG_6771.jpg

33843449Because You Love to Hate Me: 13 Tales of Villainy edited by Ameriie
Series: Standalone
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens
First published July 11th, 2017
Genres: Anthologies, Short-stories, YA, Fantasy
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

Leave it to the heroes to save the world–villains just want to rule the world.

In this unique YA anthology, thirteen acclaimed, bestselling authors team up with thirteen influential BookTubers to reimagine fairy tales from the oft-misunderstood villains’ points of view.
These fractured, unconventional spins on classics like “Medusa,” Sherlock Holmes, and “Jack and the Beanstalk” provide a behind-the-curtain look at villains’ acts of vengeance, defiance, and rage–and the pain, heartbreak, and sorrow that spurned them on. No fairy tale will ever seem quite the same again!

Featuring writing from . . .
Authors: Renée Ahdieh, Ameriie, Soman Chainani, Susan Dennard, Sarah Enni, Marissa Meyer, Cindy Pon, Victoria Schwab, Samantha Shannon, Adam Silvera, Andrew Smith, April Genevieve Tucholke, and Nicola Yoon
BookTubers: Benjamin Alderson (Benjaminoftomes), Sasha Alsberg (abookutopia), Whitney Atkinson (WhittyNovels), Tina Burke (ChristinaReadsYA blog and TheLushables), Catriona Feeney (LittleBookOwl), Jesse George (JessetheReader), Zoë Herdt (readbyzoe), Samantha Lane (Thoughts on Tomes), Sophia Lee (thebookbasement), Raeleen Lemay (padfootandprongs07), Regan Perusse (PeruseProject), Christine Riccio (polandbananasBOOKS), and Steph Sinclair & Kat Kennedy (Cuddlebuggery blog and channel).

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-30, às 18.09.21

Oh man… I expected to love this so much more than I did! While there are some awesome stories, a lot of them felt just, okay. The first thing you need to know is that I love villains. I just absolutely love them! I mean, we are normally attracted to dark characters, the unknown or the different, especially when they are misunderstood, when they deep inside have a heart of gold or could have been really nice if not for the troubled life they had.

We feel them like no other character, and we want to know everything about them. But in this book half of the time, I didn’t feel any of it… I felt bored. I know that in a short story to present a villain and make you see who they are, what they do and sometimes why is not easy but I kinda had high (too high) expectations for this.

But what I also really loved about this book is that I had the opportunity to try some new authors. Some of them I was actually surprised that I liked so much! There’s a bit of everything in this book, the only main thing being that it’s about Villains, many different types of villains… I also really liked a lot of the ideas the BookTubers had for the Authors and also some of what they wrote about the stories. Some didn’t add much and felt just meh, some didn’t seem to fit with the type of book it is, and if it was meant to seem funny I don’t think I grabbed that part… But others gave a new perspective on the story, which I thought to be both clever and interesting.

My Top 3 stories were Death Knell by Victoria Schwab, Marigold by Samantha Shannon and Jack by Ameriie. They were very different from each other, but for one reason or another, I loved them!


The short stories

The Blood of Imuriv by Renee Ahdieh – This was a nice unexpected story, that got me open-mouthed by the end. I never read any book from the author, so I can’t really compare it. I did like the idea, and the characters and the world were well presented for a short story! It’s about siblings in a world where the girl is the one that gets to do everything (basically if there would be a throne she would be the one to get it) so it was a nice spin both in that but also in the way the villain was presented.

Christine’s additionI wasn’t a fan of it, and it made me kinda nervous if the rest was going to be this uninteresting… but they weren’t!

Overall: 3 stars


Jack by Ameriie – I freaking loved this one! It left me completely WTH! So this is a retelling of Jack and the Beanstalk and I didn’t expect any of it! Our main character is actually the giant and it’s actually easy to sympathize with her and she is a hell of a character! I was so not expecting who would be the villain in this book!

Tina’s addition: This was a good one! It’s succinct and explains the story.

Overall: 5 stars


Gwen and Art and Lance by Soman Chainani – This was a nice adaptation of what was asked, but being only written in text messages didn’t help for me to connect with the story. Good idea but felt short. A short story is already short, like the name says, but a short story in text messages? Felt utterly tiny. But I did enjoy it! I just wanted more…

Samantha’s addition: I understand the why of being written like that, and it went really well with the story. But and although it was nice it didn’t give much…

Overall: 3 stars


Shirley & Jim by Susan Dennard I really enjoy Susan Dennard’s books and this short story was really nice! I ended it wanting more, needing more. Different from the last ones we know who the villain is but you keep hoping it isn’t… The characters were really well drawn and I felt incredibly connected with them. But I did see that end coming, and that’s kinda why it wasn’t a 5 stars story for me. It was interesting and gripping!

Sasha’s addition: Sadly I didn’t enjoy this one… I haven’t read her book yet but this contribution was not my taste at all.

Overall: 4 stars


The Blessing of Little Wants by Sarah Enni – This was a very clever story, it wasn’t very gripping tho, which I wanted it to be since it’s about villains… But it felt dark and mysterious and that was worth it, but it could have been better. I love books with magic, so that’s what I most love about this one and how weird and creepy some things were. I also didn’t see that end coming… 

Sophia’s addition: It was a fun and interesting idea and it added a bit more to the story.

Overall: 3.5 stars


The Sea Witch by Marissa Meyer – This is one of the ones I remember the most. It’s basically a spin to The Little Mermaid and I loved it! I thought the story to be really simple and that’s the main reason why it’s not one of my favorites. But I love Meyer’s writing, and like always I felt an incredible connection with her villain! She made me pity her, love her, fear her… I felt the classic love for the villain just like I did with Meyer’s other novels. In such a short story I was able to understand the villain, be on board with her decisions and be completely against them.

Zoe’s additionThis was interesting but not entirely my style. But I really liked the writing!

Overall: 4 stars


Beautiful Venom by Cindy Pon – I really liked this one and I never read anything by the author. It has an amazing perspective and it’s written beautifully! It’s unfair, it’s cruel, it’s dark and it’s incredible. I was a bit lost in the beginning but I found my way afterwards and loved it!

Benjamin’s additionI really liked this one! It felt like a deep review of the story. It gives a very thoughtful idea of what is behind the words and a perspective that is very important and well written.

Overall: 4.5 stars


Death Knell by Victoria Schwab – This was the short story I most wanted to read and I loved it!! It was gripping, it was dark and it was somehow realistic. I absolutely loved it. It was such a well written short story! It was sad and quite a ride for such a tiny thing! I love the way death was personified and how unexpected it made it be.

Jesse’s addition: I really enjoyed this one. It’s a letter written to death and it feels both personal and touchy. Really enjoyed it!

Overall: 5 stars


Marigold by Samantha Shannon – I wasn’t expecting loving this one so much. It was so emotional and strong! I loved the writing, I didn’t expect the end at all and I loved how the characters were presented. It was a strong short story and I would love to read more about it!

Regan’s additionReally enjoyed this one too. It explains the story with some excerpts from it and it felt really well structured.

Overall: 5 stars


You, You, It’s all About You by Adam Silvera – It seems to me that Adam Silvera is just not my type of author… I just can’t really get into the writing. But I still liked the story. It was unpredictable, dark and cruel. I loved the villain and I would totally like to read more about it! My problem is always the writing and I can’t figure out why it doesn’t grip me.

Catriona’s addition: This was an interesting one, once again not so much my style but I still enjoyed it. But the first part of it was really good and more like what I expected. Talking about why the topic and some thoughts on the story.

Overall: 3 stars


Julian Breaks Every Rule by Andrew Smith – This one was not my style. It didn’t grip me, it didn’t make me want to know more or even care. It had a bit of humor to it, but I still wasn’t a fan of it. It just felt meh to me. I think the best part of the story was the characters and I did enjoy the writing.

Raeleen’s additionThis is definitely my type. It’s easy to read, goes straight to the point and with the right amount of humor. Loved it.

Overall: 2.5 stars


Indigo and Shade by April Genevieve Tucholke – I really liked this one. It was gripping and I wanted to know more and more. I loved the characters and how the story progressed. It was sad, it was warm-hearted and it really made me think about the villain and what makes one a villain.

Whitney’s addition: I liked it but not as much as I could have… It was interesting tho.

Overall: 4.5 stars


Sera by Nicola Yoon – I loved this mainly because it felt so real. I loved the struggle of our villain, I loved to see her feelings… And I didn’t expect Nicola Yoon to do such a good villain! I love her writing and her books but I wasn’t expecting to love this one so much. I loved the villain and how emotional it made the story be.

Steph and Kat’s additionI really liked the writing in this one, but as you might have seen from all the other contributions, it’s not my type… Quizzes and anything that is supposed to make it light and fun in a book of villains is just not for me.

Overall: 4.5 stars

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-30, às 18.18.22

   Captura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.47.38

What’re your favorite anthologies? Have you read this one? What did you think of it? Let’s discuss it in the comments!

7 thoughts on “Because You Love to Hate Me: 13 Tales of Villainy edited by Ameriie (spoiler free)

  1. I’m currently reading this really liking it so far. My favourite short stories at the moment are also Jack, and Death Knell. And once I’ve read it I hope I can add Marigold to that list because I usually love Samantha Shannon’s storytelling and writing! The only story that has failed to impress me is Gwen and Art and Lance. I couldn’t click with the format of the story or any of the characters. I quite liked the commentary for it though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Those were really good! Some of them I would love a actually book about x)
      It was the fist time I read anything from Samantha Shannon but I really wanna buy The Bone Season because I read some chapters and I really enjoyed it!
      Gwen and Art and Lance I didn’t really go much for the format either… Only text messages didn’t really give me the feeling it was supposed to with a villain… I did want to know more about the characters tho…
      I hope you enjoy the rest of the book!! 😀

      Like

      • I finished the book a few days ago and really liked it. I have my favourite and my least favourite stories but for the most part, it was enjoyable.

        I personally love The Bone Season and the books keep getting better! I can’t wait to see what Samantha Shannon does with TBS 4!

        Like

  2. This idea of retelling fairy tales from a villain’s point of view is brilliant! Glad you enjoyed this one, I’ll have to check it out. Great reviews, I like how you broke them down and reviewed the individual stories.
    I nominated you for the Real Neat Blog Award 🙂 No pressure to participate. Here it is if you’d like to check it out. Real Neat Blog Award

    Jo-Ann

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

