Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

IMG_6770.jpg

16059492
Shadow and Bone 
by Leigh Bardugo
Series: The Grisha Trilogy #1
Publisher:  Square Fish
First published June 5th, 2012
Genres: Fantasy, YA
Pages: 406
Format: Paperback + Audiobook
Buy: Book Depository | Audiobook – Amazon

Alina Starkov doesn’t expect much from life. Orphaned by the Border Wars, she is sure of only one thing: her best friend Mal and her inconvenient crush on him. Until the day their army regiment enters the Fold, a swath of unnatural darkness crawling with monsters. When their convoy is attacked and Mal is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power not even she knew existed.

Ripped from everything she knows, Alina is taken to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling. With Alina’s extraordinary power in his arsenal, he believes they can finally destory the Fold. Now Alina must find a way to master her untamed gift and somehow fit into her new life without Mal by her side. But nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. As the threat to the kingdom mounts and her dangerous attraction to the Darkling grows, Alina will uncover a secret that could tear her heart–and her country–in two.

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-30, às 18.09.21

I’m so happy I finally read this! I love this world SO incredibly much! It sure is different from Six of Crows, even the writing is slightly different in my opinion – a bit more simple. But I loved it so much!

I will try not to put spoiler’s in this review and ramble more in the next review because there will be one! So…

The best part of this book is the world, which I knew already how it kinda was, but this book sure explains it a lot better! I was hooked on this book since the first pages because of it and I don’t think I would ever get enough of this world! Ravka is such a fantastic place! Full of magic and beauty but also an enigmatic darkness that puts everyone in danger, called Shadow Fold. And I do love me some darkness!

And if there’s something I love it’s magic. I love to read about it and this one was one of my favorites until now! I loved all the Grisha’s power and I tough it was very well described and even believable! This world is both beautiful and terrifying and being based in Russia, is just the best thing in the world for me because I am slightly obsessed with it.

Another big plus for me was the characters in this book! There are many I really want to know more about and obviously, the Darkling is the most amazing character ever! I actually enjoyed Alina, which I wasn’t expecting. Sometimes she annoyed me, but I still manage to care for her after some time, and I really want to see her turn into a real bad ass in the next books (at least that’s what I expect). But I did love Genya! She was such an enigmatic beautiful character! I really hope to see her in the next books. As for Mal… He was an okay character. I didn’t care that much for him as I did for the others, but I am still interested in what will happen to him.

I also liked that it had a bit of romance and sexiness, but not in an overwhelming type of way. It was a nice addition especially since I’m totally living for the Darkling and I seem to not be able to see through him, which makes me want to read more and more about him!

The writing is once again amazing, although like I said I felt it to be more simple than in Six of Crows. And since this one came out way before, it’s understandable, and I am still a massive fan! I think it’s beautiful and gripping and I would now read any book by the author! 

As you can see, I pretty much loved everything in this book… It’s just so incredibly compelling and fantastic! I will for sure continue with the books and I will 100% recommend them! But if you have already read Six of Crows like I did, DO NOT COMPARE THEM! They are extremely different, the only thing that connects them is the world and Grisha people.

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-30, às 18.18.22

Captura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.png

Have you read this book? What did you think of it? Also, if you could be a Grisha, what power would you want to have? Let’s discuss it in the comments below!

8 thoughts on “Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

  1. I’m really interested in reading the six of crows duology, but not so excited to get the Grisha trilogy xD I’ve heard I can read one without reading the other, but I won’t understand some references and some things about the world. I’ll have to think about getting it all then 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

