Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker (ARC Review)

captura-de-ecrc3a3-2017-06-30-c3a0s-18-44-22.png

33574211
Emma in the Night 
by Wendy Walker

Series: Standalone

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Expected publication: August 8th, 2017

Genres: Mystery, Thriller, Adult

Pages: 320

Format: ARC

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*

From the bestselling author of All Is Not Forgotten comes a thriller about two missing sisters, a twisted family, and what happens when one girl comes back…

One night three years ago, the Tanner sisters disappeared: fifteen-year-old Cass and seventeen-year-old Emma. Three years later, Cass returns, without her sister Emma. Her story is one of kidnapping and betrayal, of a mysterious island where the two were held. But to forensic psychiatrist Dr. Abby Winter, something doesn’t add up. Looking deep within this dysfunctional family Dr. Winter uncovers a life where boundaries were violated and a narcissistic parent held sway. And where one sister’s return might just be the beginning of the crime.

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-30, às 18.09.21

 

This is one of those books that the only thought you get after finishing it is “wow” followed by “holy crap”… 

I don’t even know what to say about this… For starters, I had some problems with the writing. I couldn’t really get into it, maybe because it was extremely slow paced and I wasn’t in the mood for that? I’m not sure but after finishing it I just kept thinking that this could have been the best thriller I’ve read until today, and it’s kinda sad I can’t give it 5 stars because in the first 50% of it I felt sometimes bored with the pace. But the end was SO worth it! And made me want to read this book again and see the details I might have missed because I didn’t know where to look.

This had the most surprising ending I’ve ever encountered. I thought I knew what was going on and I discovered that I had absolutely no idea of anything. I started doubting myself, I started doubting the characters and the end blew me away because I just would have never seen that coming.

One thing be told… Most unreliable character award goes to Cass! I can’t even describe this girl. Holy… She is a mess! She is so strong and yet so messed up, it’s scary! The story is told in multiple POV. In Cass’s ones she tells what happened to her while she was gone, every detail, everything she can remember to help the police find Emma that didn’t return with her.

During the book, we learn about Cass, about her life during those years but all over life before them. What was like to live in her house with her family which is completely unfunctional. It’s difficult to choose only one character of this book as the one I hate the most… But I did hate Cass’s mom and at the same time I was intrigued by and wanted to know more about her for how sick she is.

As I said before, I had some problem with the writing. It didn’t feel as gripping as I was expecting it to be, but it was written extremely carefully and with a lot of details that still made you want to know more and read till the end. This was the first book I read from the author and I am totally up for more heavy mystery books like this one.

But the most fascinating part of the book was Cass. I can’t really tell much of the why, but if you like messed up characters and excruciating mysteries this is the book for you! Although the pace was slow, the book was fascinating.

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-30, às 18.18.22

Captura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.47.38

Do you enjoy intense thrillers? What did you think about this one? Let’s discuss it in the comments below!

One thought on “Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker (ARC Review)

Leave a Reply

