Invictus by Ryan Graudin

IMG_6871.jpg

9781510102866

Invictus by Ryan Graudin
Series: N/A
Publisher: Orion Children’s Books
Published September 21st, 2017
Genres: Sci-fi, YA
Pages: 464
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

Time flies when you’re plundering history.

Farway Gaius McCarthy was born outside of time. The son of a time-traveling Recorder from 2354 AD and a gladiator living in Rome in 95 AD, Far’s birth defies the laws of nature. Exploring history himself is all he’s ever wanted, and after failing his final time-traveling exam, Far takes a position commanding a ship with a crew of his friends as part of a black market operation to steal valuables from the past.

But during a heist on the sinking Titanic, Far meets a mysterious girl who always seems to be one step ahead of him. Armed with knowledge that will bring Far’s very existence into question, she will lead Far and his team on a race through time to discover a frightening truth: History is not as steady as it seems.

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-30, às 18.09.21First of all… This cover. It’s Gorgeous! I just had to mention that because it’s definitely one of my favorite covers. It’s so simple yet somehow gripping!

I took a bit too long reading this book but to be honest I can’t really point anything bad that made me not want to read it so I blame the reading slump… I love the concept, the characters are awesome and I just adore time travel, and mix that with art and twist after twist? It’s fascinating…

The problem is that I was liking the book, I just couldn’t really make myself read it? This never happened to me but I guess there’s a first time for everything right? I think it was the slump… Anyway, let’s talk about the book.

So basically, Invictus is set in the future and our main character is training to be officially a time traveler, but when that doesn’t happen, he turns himself into other opportunities that are illegal. He forms a crew and he has to steal art artifacts from the past before they get destroyed. But in one of the missions, he meets a girl who will change his life forever.

The crew was really good. My favorite has to be Imogen (Far’s cousin) because she is completely unexpected and just pretty much the funniest person ever! She is incredibly unique and I loved her! Gram is another member of the crew, he is incredibly intelligent but socially he is extremely awkward… I loved to see them trying to be with one another, without compromising the team. They are so different and that’s why I think I loved them together.

I also really loved Far and how strong he his. He is strong-headed, he worries about his friends and it was really interesting following him on his quests. I also absolutely loved to see him with Priya! The only thing is that I would have liked to see them falling in love and that port is just skipped ahead. But I loved them together and how they understood and cared about each other, and more than that, how they worked so well together!

It’s just really easy to love all of them, they are the sweetest characters ever and it’s impossible not to connect with them! Oh, did I mention that there’s a red panda aboard?! I LOVE him!

And then we have that mysterious girl… She is probably the best character ever and she really surprised me. She is mysterious, strong, sassy and slightly crazy. Sometimes I didn’t know what to think of her because it’s difficult to understand her but I ended up loving her!

The time traveling in this book is one of the most interesting ones. It’s paired with art, some really well known, mysteries and some other things that will probably blow your guy’s mind. It’s fascinating to see it working and all the mechanics behind it, of how to prepare for the time traveling, what you can and can not do, how to program not to crash in something when you arrive, etc. It was really interesting.

The writing was also really great, not as gripping as I wanted it to be, or maybe it was just my reading slump, I don’t know yet. But it was surprisingly good. This is the first book I read from the author and I was somewhat surprised. This author’s twists are epic and utterly heartbreaking!

The idea is indeed fascinating, the characters are great and I really liked the writing. I would recommend especially if you like time traveling. This one is a fascinating one!

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-30, às 18.18.22

Captura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.47.38

Do you like time traveling? Have you read this yet? What did you think of it? Let’s discuss it in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

