The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes

08092018-IMG_8256.jpg

17185496

 

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes
Series: N/A
Publisher: Speak
First published June 9th, 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Mystery, YA
Pages: 398
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

A hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith—and the power of having faith in yourself. Finalist for the Morris Award.

The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust. And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.

Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it’s clear that Minnow knows something—but she’s not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of—if she’s willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.

Gorgeously written, breathlessly page-turning and sprinkled with moments of unexpected humor, this harrowing debut is perfect for readers of Emily Murdoch’s If You Find Me and Nova Ren Suma’s The Walls Around Us , as well as for fans of Orange is the New Black.

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-30, às 18.09.21

“I am a blood-soaked girl.”

This was so freaking unique and amazing! I LOOOVED this! It’s the first book I read about a religious cult and a hell of a good one!

This is the story of Minnow Bly. She escaped from the cult she lived in. After that, she beat up a boy and ended up in a juvenile detention center, where we get to see her remembering all her life until then. She is being tried for the beating but on top of that, the cult’s home was burned and the prophet died, and no one knows what happened. Is she responsible for it?

Like I said, this is the first book I ever read with a religious cult in it, but it’s so freaking well done and believable! It shows us how’s the life inside a community; how people can go to such extremes as to live isolated and have their lives dictated by someone; how someone’s idea of the world can be so different; and so much more! It was really interesting to see it from her point of view at different ages and see her discovering the world around her. I loved seeing her rediscover herself, gaining power over her life and her choices and learning how to cope with her life after all that happened. And all that being done at a juvie detention center? AMAZING.

This was a sad book, but it was also really rewarding to read. I love all the friendship in this book and all the precious funny happy moments. I highly doubt every juvie detention center is like the one in this book, but I hope they could be. She learned so much and discovered a new life she could have and people she could trust in. It was truly an emotional book all the way through. 

This is an extremely gripping and well-written book that will leave you questioning yourself and wanting to understand Minnow. It’s an amazing hard story, full of sad and even atrocious moments, but it’s a book I would recommend to everyone!


Some quotes:

“I guess people can’t be content without answers, even if they’re wrong. We’d rather have a lie than a question that we can never know the answer to.”

“I think you should be angry if you’re angry. But it’s also true that hate has a way of hurting you more than the person you’re hating.”

“That’s how you avoid becoming a moth,” he says. “Stop asking others what to believe. Figure it out for yourself.”

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-30, às 18.18.22

Captura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.pngCaptura de ecrã 2017-05-20, às 11.15.59.png

Have you read this book? What did you think of it? Let’s discuss it in the comments below!

3 thoughts on “The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes

  1. I have not read this book, but the Arsonist is Stephanie Oakes second book and it’s absolutely phenomenal. It’s very interesting and seemingly original.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s