One Night Only by Catherine Walsh – ARC Review

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-30, às 18.44.22

One Night Only by Catherine Walsh

Series: N/A

Publisher: Bookouture

Expected publication: July 30th 2021

Genres: Romance, Contemporary, Adult

Format: ARC

Buy: Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*


Who could have predicted this? Being at the same wedding. In Ireland. There’s a reason one-night stands are one-night stands. You’re not supposed to see each other again, especially not when you’re the maid of honor, and he’s the groom’s brother…

Sarah Anderson has never been more excited about anything in her life. She’s going to her best friend’s wedding. And not just any wedding. An Irish wedding. Goodbye New York, hello rolling green hills and men with beautiful accents and twinkling eyes.

But Sarah should have known that not all guests are fairy-tale princes…

There’s the chinless Uncle Trevor, whose idea of small talk is to claim climate change is a conspiracy.

Then there’s Great Aunt Eileen, who doesn’t talk at all (she’s too busy replacing the hotel cutlery with her own set).

Worst of all, there’s Declan Murphy. Best man. Brother of the groom. And the man Sarah last saw naked.

Is there anything more mortifying than bumping into a one-night stand halfway across the world? Especially as Declan seems determined to embarrass Sarah at every turn. At least when the wedding’s over she’ll never have to see him again.

But, back in New York, Sarah finds the more she tries to forget Declan, the more she can’t shake the thought of that infuriatingly charming smile and the way he wears a tux…

Was he really just for one night only, or might Declan Murphy be The One?

Prepare to laugh until you cry with this perfect feel-good romantic comedy about taking a chance on love. Fans of Sophie Ranald, Sophie Kinsella and Marian Keyes won’t be able to put this down!

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-30, às 18.09.21

This book gripped me from the very beginning! It’s so freaking fun! Sarah is Annie’s best friend and her maid of honor. She is incredibly excited about that and the fact that it’s going to be in Ireland! Except, when she gets there, the groom’s brother is her last one-night stand! And as if that wasn’t enough, he doesn’t leave her alone and keeps trying to embarrass her! Could it get any worse?!

I really enjoyed Sarah for how relatable she is. She is afraid of compromises due to a bad breakup and the divorce of her parents. So she opted for another way that would break her further – one-night stands. But this time things didn’t really go as planned. Enter, Declan! I freaking loved him. He is incredibly funny and easy going. You can see he has his demons but overall he has such a charming personality! I loved seeing them together bickering and learning about each other. I couldn’t stop reading and smiling for how cute it was.

I also really liked Annie’s and Sarah’s friendship. They were so important to each other and I could feel it through the pages. They are very different and that made it even more interesting. Sarah is forward and is not afraid of showing who she is and taking what she wants. While Annie is more shy and more cautious.

I loved that there was a lot more to their story than just the romantic aspect. It really made it not only more relatable with all that was happening but more exciting and complex. And I mean who doesn’t want to read about a big messy Irish family? I know I do.

I found the plot really interesting and although at times I could guess what was going to happen, it was still entertaining and a lot of fun! I really liked the humour and I laughed quite a bit with this one. Especially due to Declan! Did I mention I loved him??

The writing was easy and gripping and the development was just what I needed at the moment. It’s an easy and fun book full of drama, chaos and love, and I could totally see myself re-reading it.

Fave quote: “”We’re taking things slow”. “Have you slept with him?” “Of course,” she says, and reclines on her elbows “slow, not stationary”.”

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-30, às 18.18.22

What did you think of it? Have you read it? Let’s discuss it in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s