Fangs and Séance Tea Party – Mini Reviews

Fangs by Sarah Andersen
Series: N/A
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Published September 1st 2020
Genres: Graphic Novel, Paranormal Romance
Pages: 112
Format: Hardback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

Elsie the vampire is three hundred years old, but in all that time, she has never met her match. This all changes one night in a bar when she meets Jimmy, a charming werewolf with a wry sense of humor and a fondness for running wild during the full moon. Together they enjoy horror films and scary novels, shady strolls, fine dining (though never with garlic), and a genuine fondness for each other’s unusual habits, macabre lifestyles, and monstrous appetites. 

First featured as a webcomic series on Tapas, Fangs chronicles the humor, sweetness, and awkwardness of meeting someone perfectly suited to you but also vastly different. Filled with Sarah Andersen’s beautiful gothic illustrations and relatable relationship humor, Fangs has all the makings of a cult classic.

This is a super cute love story between a Vampire Elsie and a Werewolf Jimmy! It’s told in snippets of their daily lives since they met and it’s darn cute!!

It’s funny, adorable and guaranteed to put a smile on your face. I really enjoyed the humour in it, it was just up my alley and I’m super glad I got to it after seeing it around so much.

If you ever wondered how a vampire and a werewolf’s relationship would look like, this is the book for you! Plus it’s so short it fits on anyones TBR and you won’t regret it!


Séance Tea Party by Reimena Yea
Series: N/A
Publisher: Random House Graphic
Published September 15th 2020 by
Genres: Graphic Novel, Middle Grade
Pages: 272
Format: Paperback
Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

Lora doesn’t want to grow up! Afraid that she is the magic of her childhood, Lora will do anything to stop it . . . including befriending Alexa, the ghost who haunts her house. A middle-grade graphic novel that focuses growing up and what that means for you and all the relationships you have in your life. This book is perfect for fans of Ghosts and Making Friends. 

Growing up sounds terrible. 

No one has time to do anything fun, or play outside, or use their imagination. Everything is suddenly so serious. People are more interested in their looks and what others think about them than having fun adventures. Who wants that? 

Not Lora. 

After watching her circle of friends seemingly fade away, Lora is determined to still have fun on her own. A tea party with a twist lease Lora to discovering Alex, the ghost that haunts her house — and Lora’s old imaginary friend! Lora and Alexa are thrilled to meet kindred spirits and they become best friends . . . but unfortunately, not everything can last forever. 

Reimena Yee brings to life a story about growing up, childhood, and what it means to let go. A fantastical story following lovable characters as they each realize what it means to be who you are.

This was adorable.

It’s about growing up, how difficult it can be and not losing yourself while doing it. How it can be difficult to keep up with it all, and it’s okay if sometimes we don’t want to grow up and follow what everyone is into. You can just be yourself and go your own pace! It’s difficult to deal with all the anxiety, the new friends, the new rules, what is hot at the moment, what is not accepted anymore. It can be discouraging and lead to some mental health issues. At a young age we are generally all in a hurry to grow up, but I wish I had been more like the mc and enjoyed what I had while I had it. Growing up sucks sometimes!

I loved Lora and how much she wanted to enjoy what others viewed possibly as childish. She loves everything spooky, so she holds a seance and during it, she meets Alexa – her long lost imaginary friend. She explains how she feels and she is incredibly happy to have someone understanding her and helping her through this moment. While Lora fears for the future and growing up, Alexa missed the opportunity to do so and watches as generations of children pass by her. It’s beautiful to see both sides!

This book is full of happy and magical moments, but it has also some heartfelt and even heart-wrenching moments, especially from Alexa’s pov. After all life is not easy, be it for a child, a ghost, or even an adult.

The art is incredible! It’s super colourful and just magical. Loved how the story was told and I would definitely recommend reading it. This is beautiful for all ages! Plus all the cuteness is just perfect!!

2 thoughts on “Fangs and Séance Tea Party – Mini Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s