I’ll Be Home For Christmas by Karen Clarke – ARC Review

I’ll Be Home for Christmas by Karen Clarke

Series: N/A

Publisher: Bookouture

Published October 14th 2019

Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Holidays

Pages: 268

Format: ARC

Buy: Amazon 

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*

The weather forecasters said the snowstorm would miss the eastern seaboard. They were wrong. When Ally Henderson’s flight from Southern California to New York City for Christmas gets diverted to the tiny Midwestern town of Bethlehem, she’s desperate to get back in the air and back to the Big Apple. But with all the airports closed, she’s forced to rely on Midwestern hospitality to wait out the storm. And she soon le

Last Christmas, Nina gave away her heart – only to have it broken. But this year, at her family’s cosy café, could she find a second chance at love with someone special under the mistletoe?

Nina Bailey loves Christmas. Except this year she doesn’t. Because it turns out that her husband-to-be has been cheating on her – and her beautiful wedding ceremony in the snow is cancelled.

She’s not really in the mood to be jolly, sing carols, or go anywhere near gingerbread men – in fact, what Nina wants is to avoid the whole thing. So she’s come to stay at her Aunt Dolly’s cosy café to nurse her broken heart.

Nina is determined to get through Christmas with no tinsel, no fuss – and definitely no flirting. So when she arrives and meets infuriatingly handsome Ryan Sadler, with his gorgeous forest-green eyes, she is not best pleased. And when Nina overhears him making fun of her, she is furious. (There might have been an incident with a koala onesie and a spilled bottle of milk, but that really wasn’t her fault!) So despite the spark between them, and the fact that he can whip up a fabulous dinner faster than she can say Michelin star, romance and Christmas are off the menu this year.

Unfortunately, Aunt Dolly hasn’t quite got the message, going to great lengths to provide a proper British Christmas for her beloved niece: a true home away from home. With sparkling lights adorning every wall and a tree to equal the Rockefeller Center’s and, yes, mistletoe above every doorway, can Nina resist the magic of Christmas – and stick to her no-romance rule?

This heartwarming romantic comedy will have you reaching for eggnog, roasted chestnuts and gingerbread cookies! The perfect festive book to read curled up in front of the fire, for fans of Sue Moorcroft, Holly Martin and Debbie Johnson.

Nina just had a really bad breakup when she was about to get married. To get away from it, she travels to the charming French village of Chamillon to spend some quality time at her aunt and cousin and focus on her new career as a travel blogger. Romance is far from her plans, but her aunt Dolly is trying to set her up nonetheless with her son’s best friend Ryan. He is also staying at their house and is also going through a tough breakup. As first impressions go, let’s just say they didn’t hit the jackpot, but will Dolly’s skills as matchmaker change that?

This is a super cute and heart-warming story with Christmas at its centre. It’s also all about finding one’s self and what makes us happy, be it personally or professionally.

I especially enjoyed the family element in this book. Nina and her aunt and cousin have such a nice relationship! I was definitely rooting for Dolly’s matchmaking skills to work. She is such a happy and energetic character! She totally gave life to the book and I loved how enthusiastic she was about life. She is the type of character that no matter what will bring a smile to your face.

I could also totally feel for Nina and how much she tried to find what she wanted in life. It took her a while but she totally made the best of her skills to bring happiness to others. I’m definitely not like her, I don’t have the gift of putting things simple and right in a room, I’m a bit of a clutter type of person, so it was interesting to see spaces through her eyes.

I also quite like the romance in this book, it’s simple, slow burning and although predictable at times, super cute. But the best part? I love small towns/villages in books. They have the best feeling and I love to see how everyone knows each other and works together to bring the best daily life possible. And that feeling is even stronger when you pair it with Christmas time! This is definitely a cozy read that will make your Christmas spirit high, especially when you have to wait more than 300 days for the next one!

What did you think of it? Have you read it? Let’s discuss it in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “I’ll Be Home For Christmas by Karen Clarke – ARC Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s