ARC Review: The Disappearances by Emily Bain Murphy (spoiler free)

Captura de ecrã 2017-05-30, às 12.20.22

28556709
The Disappearances 
by Emily Bain Murphy

Series: Standalone

Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers

Expected publication: July 4th, 2017

Genres: Fantasy, Magic Realism, Mystery, YA

Pages: 400

Format: ARC

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*

What if the ordinary things in life suddenly…disappeared?

Aila Quinn’s mother, Juliet, has always been a mystery: vibrant yet guarded, she keeps her secrets beyond Aila’s reach. When Juliet dies, Aila and her younger brother Miles are sent to live in Sterling, a rural town far from home–and the place where Juliet grew up.
Sterling is a place with mysteries of its own. A place where the experiences that weave life together–scents of flowers and food, reflections from mirrors and lakes, even the ability to dream–vanish every seven years.
No one knows what caused these “Disappearances,” or what will slip away next. But Sterling always suspected that Juliet Quinn was somehow responsible–and Aila must bear the brunt of their blame while she follows the chain of literary clues her mother left behind.

As the next Disappearance nears, Aila begins to unravel the dual mystery of why the Disappearances happen and who her mother truly was. One thing is clear: Sterling isn’t going to hold on to anyone’s secrets for long before it starts giving them up.

Read More »

Words on Bathroom Walls by Julia Walton (ARC Review)

Captura de ecrã 2017-05-30, às 12.20.22

25695640
Words on Bathroom Walls 
by Julia Walton

Series: Standalone

Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers

Expected publication: July 4th, 2017

Genres: Contemporary, YA, Mental Illness

Pages: 304

Format: ARC

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*

Fans of More Happy Than Not, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and It’s Kind of a Funny Story will cheer for Adam as he struggles with schizophrenia in this brilliantly honest and unexpectedly funny debut.

Adam has just been diagnosed with schizophrenia. He sees and hears people who aren’t there: Rebecca, a beautiful girl who understands him; the Mob Boss, who harasses him; and Jason, the naked guy who’s unfailingly polite. It should be easy to separate the real from the not real, but Adam can’t.

Still, there’s hope. As Adam starts fresh at a new school, he begins a drug trial that helps him ignore his visions. Suddenly everything seems possible, even love. When he meets Maya, a fiercely intelligent girl, he desperately wants to be the great guy that she thinks he is. But then the miracle drug begins to fail, and Adam will do anything to keep Maya from discovering his secret.

Read More »

Huge Birthday Book Haul 2017

IMG_6754.jpg

Hey guys! Welcome to my most excited birthday haul! ❤

Some days ago was my birthday and I got loads of books from family and friends. I am so freaking happy!! I got SO MANY Books! Like, WTH?! They are everything I could wish for!

So, here is my huge birthday book haul organized by genre, including some pre-orders, that I obviously don’t have yet, but bought with birthday money! ^^ Hope you guys enjoy!Read More »

Special Birthday Blog Post

Captura de ecrã 2017-06-17, às 19.53.26.png

Hey guys and welcome to my Birthday Blog Post Special! I was tagged by @Thebooknerddragon so, thank you so much Jannin! I waited for my birthday to do this post, so it took me some time… Sorry! But I am finally doing it! Also, make sure you check her post here!

So this post is basically a rundown of my reading life. I will follow the same lines as Jannin, but with one difference. I will not put ages because it will only confuse me, but other than that it will be the same.

I will try not to enter into much detail about my life to not bore you all so this will be the shorter I can make it!Read More »

When We Danced at the End of the Pier by Sandy Taylor

Captura de ecrã 2017-05-30, às 12.20.22

33807869

When We Danced at the End of the Pier by Sandy Taylor

Series: Brighton Girls Trilogy #1

Publisher: Bookouture

Published March 31st, 2017

Genres: Romance, Historical Fiction, YA

Pages: 384

Format: ARC

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*

Brighton 1930: Maureen O’Connell is a carefree girl, but her family is on the brink of tragedy, war is looming and life will never be the same again.

Jack and Nelson have always been dear friends to Maureen. Despite their different backgrounds, they’ve seen each other through thick and thin.

As Maureen blossoms from a little girl into a young woman, the candle she’s always held for Jack burns bright. But just as she’s found love, war wrenches them apart. The man she cherishes with all her heart is leaving.

When the bombs start to fall, Maureen and her family find themselves living in the most dangerous of times. With Jack no longer by her side and Nelson at war, Maureen has never felt more alone. Can she look to a brighter future? And will she find the true happiness she’s dreamt of?

An utterly gripping and heart-wrenching story about the enduring power of love, hope and friendship during the darkest of days. Perfect for fans of Pam Jenoff, Nadine Dorries and Diney Costeloe.

Read More »

Orange – The Complete Collection, Vol. 1 by Ichigo Takano

IMG_6755.jpg

25667474

Orange: The Complete Collection, Vol. 1 by Ichigo Takano

Series: Orange #1, #2 and #3

Publisher: Seven Seas

Published January 26th, 2016

Genres: YA, Manga, Romance, Time Travel

Pages: 384

Format: Paperback

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

A Plea From the Future

On the day that Naho begins 11th grade, she receives a letter from herself ten years in the future. At first, she writes it off as a prank, but as the letter’s predictions come true one by one, Naho realizes that the letter might be the real deal. Her future self tells Naho that a new transfer student, a boy named Kakeru, will soon join her class. The letter begs Naho to watch over him, saying that only Naho can save Kakeru from a terrible future. Who is this mystery boy, and can Naho save him from his destiny? This is the heart-wrenching sci-fi romance that has over million copies in print in Japan!

Read More »

Noteworthy by Riley Redgate

Captura de ecrã 2017-05-30, às 12.20.22

31447601Noteworthy by Riley Redgate

Series: Standalone

Publisher: Harry N. Abrams

Published May 2nd, 2017

Genres: Contemporary, YA, Fiction, LGBT

Pages: 400

Format: ARC

Buy: Book Depository | Amazon

* Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*

Jordan Sun is embarking on her junior year at the Kensington-Blaine Boarding School for the Performing Arts, hopeful that this will be her time: the year she finally gets cast in the school musical. But when her low Alto 2 voice gets her shut out for the third straight year—threatening her future at Kensington-Blaine and jeopardizing her college applications—she’s forced to consider nontraditional options.

In Jordan’s case, really nontraditional. A spot has opened up in the Sharpshooters, Kensington’s elite a cappella octet. Worshipped…revered…all male. Desperate to prove herself, Jordan auditions in her most convincing drag, and it turns out that Jordan Sun, Tenor 1, is exactly what the Sharps are looking for.

Jordan finds herself enmeshed in a precarious juggling act: making friends, alienating friends, crushing on a guy, crushing on a girl, and navigating decades-old rivalries. With her secret growing heavier every day, Jordan pushes beyond gender norms to confront what it means to be a girl (and a guy) in a male-dominated society, and—most importantly—what it means to be herself.

Read More »